The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Frederic Johnstone Is this you?

Filter Reviews

14 Ratings • 7 Comments

2.7
  • 4
  • 1
  • 1
  • 3
  • 5

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
22.7 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Frederic Johnstone?

Showing 12 of 14 Ratings

Four Stars

Posted on September 13th, 2017

Had a ganglion cyst in left hand. Dr Johnstone injected it and it went away. Nice doctor and took good care of me. THANKS!!!!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Worst Dr I've ever seen

Posted on December 23rd, 2015

Originally, I was referred to him for a ganglion cyst removal on my wrist a few years back. His bedside manner was atrocious, the time he spent with me and explaining the diagnosis and surgical procedure were extremely lacking! His after care was just as bad. I felt as though I was not worth his time. (Being seen by other Dr's at the facility for other issues, I was shocked because I would give them 4-5's). Again, referred to him after 8mo of arm and tendon pain (after all other treatments have failed). Again, I felt unworthy of his time, felt as if I was making a mountain out of a molehill because I wanted to be fixed, not masked by cortisone! Thankfully, a referral to another OS is on the table. I wouldn't wish his lack of professionalism on my worst enemy.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Para-Educator

Posted on May 13th, 2013

My honest rating of this doctor is 0 out of 4 stars. This site did not allow me to choose 0 out of 4 or I would have! I didn't even have the "privilege" of seeing Dr. Johnstone OR his Assistant. I showed up for my appointment ONE MINUTE late and they refused to see me. The front office woman was not one bit apologetic! She said my paperwork, that was mailed - I NEVER received it, noted that I was supposed to arrive 15 minutes before my 2:45 appointment time. I was NOT told that when I originally made the appointment! She was RUDE and completely inconsiderate! All she cared about was THEIR time - not mine! It didn't matter not one tiny bit to her that I had to arrange for a subsitute for my classroom in order to come to the appointment. I made an appointment with another orthopedic surgeon right there in their waiting room. I have NEVER been treated worse by front office staff, medical staff or a doctors office EVER! It was absolutely inconsiderate, rude; and a BIG WASTE OF MY TIME!!!!! I guess the patients time doesn't really matter! Unbelieveable! Run the other direction!

Wait time
56 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Horrible bedside manner

Posted on February 2nd, 2012

Saw Dr Johnstone for a specialist opinion. He spoke with me for about 5 minutes, told me my wrist needed to be fused and did not fully explain what was wrong with it. My questions seemed to irritate me, and he shuffled me out of the office with a see you in two months. I would not recommend him - surgery is a major event and should be fully discussed with a patient, along with the diagnosis. Felt like he was only after the insurance money.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Seems to be in a hurry all the time

Posted on October 28th, 2011

Did not spend much time with me. Did not listen to my concerns. difficult to get a call back from front desk when you leave a message.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Totally Bad Experience

Posted on May 6th, 2010

I wish I had opted out before committing to this guy for hand surgery. From the beginning I had some reservations because of his lack of communication regarding my condition. He offered very little information other than brief answers to questions that I asked regarding the procedure. . Not only did I wait almost 45 minutes in the exam room before he came in but then he seemed to be in a hurry to get on with the next order of business. I went ahead with the surgery and the results so far have been totally unsatisfactory. I have since seen another hand specialist who is managing my post surgery symptoms and physical therapy (something that DR Johnstone didn't even recommend) I never saw DR Johnstone after surgery and wasn't even scheduled to see him for three weeks afterward. I would absolutely not recommend this doctor to anyone.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Not a good Orthopedic surgeon

Posted on July 4th, 2009

Not caring. Classifies everyone with same diagnosis in same catagory. Get's em in and get's em out. You are paying for HIS surgery center.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two Stars

Posted on October 29th, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on October 10th, 2017

Three Stars

Posted on October 7th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on June 29th, 2017

Two Stars

Posted on May 11th, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Frederic Johnstone is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Puyallup, WA.