ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Garth Ballantyne Is this you?

Filter Reviews

16 Ratings • 8 Comments

2.7
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
  • 1
  • 8

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
36.3 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Garth Ballantyne?

Showing 12 of 16 Ratings

RN

Posted on December 23rd, 2011

This doctor is a danger to the community. I have seen more complications from his and Dr sommers surgeries than all the other doctors at L&M put together.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on December 6th, 2011

Dr. Ballantyne performed surgery after assuring me that he had done many similar procedures. The surgery was not successful, and after many follow up visits, lasting almost a year, in which he kept assuring me that there was nothing to be concerned about, finally admitted that the surgery would have to be re done. He let me suffer in pain all that time instead of admitting the truth. He suggested doing a procedure, that he initially said was an inferior type of repair, to correct the first procedure. When I questioned why he let me suffer for all that time, and what went wrong, and why he was suggesting an inferior repair procedure, he became defensive, aloof and uncompassionate. It seemed he was more concerned about a possible malpractice than the welfare of his patient. He should be ashamed of the way he treated me.

Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Ill intent

Posted on May 7th, 2011

He did an exploratory surgery, woke up in tremendous agony no pain killers post op ,he gave me a prescription had to drive in horrible pain for an hour to get to the drug store !Also referred me to a incompetent doctor who damaged me for life , Told me he was one of the best he could of did the same medical protocol . Also fabricates records with malice intent . Nice guy!

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

RN

Posted on February 17th, 2011

He has brought more adverse complications to L&M hospital. I strongly recommend you avoid receiving his care. He and Dr Sommer are dangerous to patients

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Very Disingenuous

Posted on October 24th, 2010

Dr Ballantyne seemed like one of the nicest doctors when I first met him , there was a lot of hope and compassion . I was set up for same day surgery in his Manhattan office , Which I experienced a tremendous amount of pain , Dr. Ballantyne actually wrote me a prescription rather then administering a pain med post surgery . I was in agony leaving his lucrative very authoritative self influenced center without anyone to answer to , There after I requested my medical records I swear if my name wasn't on the heading I'd swear he was referring to someone else extremely negative malicious fabricated dis-informative documentation about myself I couldn't believe the unethical unorthodox nature he has was VERY surprised ! Since he has a timid demeanor with a smile constantly ,a true Dr jekyll and Mister Hyde !

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Good doctor, hate to see him go!

Posted on September 16th, 2010

Dr. Ballantyne left the hospital over personal reasons, a big mistake for the hospital. He provided excellent service and always encouraged the patient to take part in their health care. I'm a more healthier and better looking person because of the care and service I received from him.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Nissen fundoplication

Posted on January 3rd, 2009

Got my nissen done 6 month ago. Terrible mistake!Gerd is back as previous to the operation plus I'm always bloated and full of gas. Don't belive his stats pretty good doctor but destroyed my life...

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great Bariatric Surgeon

Posted on December 12th, 2008

Did my Gastric Bypass surgery. I had complications (not his fault) which he handled well> I am healthy & doing well.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Three Stars

Posted on April 17th, 2015

Five Stars

Posted on March 24th, 2015

One Star

Posted on October 2nd, 2014

Two Stars

Posted on July 15th, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Garth Ballantyne is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Branford, CT.