The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Gerald Greenfield Is this you?

Filter Reviews

42 Ratings • 16 Comments

4.1
  • 29
  • 4
  • 1
  • 0
  • 8

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
30.5 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Gerald Greenfield?

Showing 12 of 42 Ratings

Saw Dr Greenfield due extreme pain in my knee.

Posted on January 11th, 2017

After researching orthopedic surgeons on vials.com I made an appointment with Dr Greenfield. He was courteous, friendly and did not rush to recommending surgery. After several options were tried I was scheduled for surgery to repair the tears the lateral and medial meniscus. The surgery required additional repairs due to arthritis. The surgery was so successful I have had no pain in my knee. I never needed to take any type of pain medication and three weeks after surgery I walk better than I have in the prior seven months.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great

Posted on September 8th, 2016

His attitude is great....he makes you feel very comfortable...he is sweet, nice, courteous,,,,,,

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Hyaluronate yessssss!!

Posted on June 3rd, 2016

Got my Hyaluronate injections approved at 100% ! No more knee replacements !! Thank you !

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Outstanding Doctor!

Posted on September 16th, 2015

Dr. Greenfield treated my Mother and is a wonderful doctor. He spent a lot of time explaining details of the surgery, very patient man. He allowed us to audio record those explanations without hesitation so that my siblings could hear fist hand the details. His office staff is wonderful also. If I needed knee surgery, I would drive to San Antonio from El Paso and have him do it. Outstanding! Thank you Dr. Greenfield!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Best Orthopedic Surgeon

Posted on February 4th, 2015

Dr. Greenfield is the most skilled, caring orthopedic surgeon one could select. He spends time with you to explain your medical problem; he informs you thoroughly about the surgery and TRULY CARES ABOUT YOU. His medical credentials are outstanding and I would recommend him HIGHLY for anyone considering orthopedic surgery. He performed an arthroscopic partial meniscectomy on my right knee and it was a total success without any residual pain after surgery.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Exceptional, Exceptional, Exceptional!

Posted on April 23rd, 2014

Dr Greenfield has the best total patient care package, bar none! He was not only patient and thorough; answering all questions fully; he seemed to anticipate questions I hadn’t even thought of. On the day of my knee surgery, Dr Greenfield reviewed the procedure with me and made certain I understood and was comfortable with not only the procedure but also with my hospital environment. My post-op visit included a detailed discussion from Dr Greenfiled on what happened in the OR, a written report and pictures of the final result. Maren, his wife and also his staff nurse, is a jewel!! She is very personable and very helpful. I was impressed that she called prior to and after the surgery just to see if I was doing ok! The experience was great from start to finish. These folks know how to treat a patient – and when I can find the time in my hectic schedule, I will return to this team to mend my other knee!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

The Best

Posted on January 8th, 2014

Dr. Greenfield and Marin Greenfield are the best in the business. They fixed my wife's broken elbow and my thumb. Nice, personable people that take a true interest in their patients. Thank you both.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Very positive experience

Posted on October 17th, 2013

I recently visited Dr. Greenfield concerning hip pain that I was experiencing. I was very impressed with Dr. Greenfield's communication skills and patience in explaining what was causing my hip pain and what my options were. He was knowledgeable and seemed genuinely interested in what I had to say. In addition, Dr. Greenfield went the extra mile and provided me with the names of several doctors who performed a procedure which I was interested in. His staff is very helpful, too, especially Maren. When I called to get a copy of the x-rays and doctor's assessment, I had to leave a message. Maren called me back and cheerfully agreed to have them waiting for me to pick them up the very next day. It is a real pleasure to get timely call-backs and great follow thru. All-in-all, my experience with Dr. Greenfield and his staff were very positive!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

A great find! Couldn't walk in but could walk out!

Posted on September 15th, 2012

With one knee twice the size of the other, and finding Dr. Greenfield highly rated by referring doctors, I was amazed that I got an appointment within 24 hours. My wife read the reviews and having read reviews for years, know well you have to read between the lines, and ignore the ones which have no bearing on the level or service or professional capability, we decided I needed to walk and in a hurry as travel was dictating full capability on my part. Amazing, and my comments are based on my experience with my Dr. in San Diego who is number 1 rated and has replaced an ACL in one knee, and fixed town miniscus on another, along with achilles heel reconstruction, and torn rotator cuff repair x 2. Dr. Greenfield is now my #1 rated San Antonio, go to Doctor to keep an old body working. Why? Once arriving, the wait was long. One person left as the wait was too long for him. I had little choice and was on a course of action to be able to walk out of the office under my own power. Once in, with excellent service with X-rays, Dr. Greenfield appeared. First visit. We discussed my previous modifications to both knees, medical problems, and my need to be walking in a short period of time. He was able to fill in some of the medical history by interviewing me which confirmed he knew exactly what he was faced with, and his qualifications were excellent.Pain ... I knew what the solution might be and was right ... needles in the knee to drain excess fluids, if any, which there weren't. Needles for steroid injections which had to happen. First time ever ... needles without pain, even tho he warned there might be pain and burning. Only an experienced orthopedic surgeon can get a needle into the knee joint without making you want to scream and shout. He IS EXCELLENT! After all the treatment, I actually made it to the car on my own, and was able to get in the vehicle without assistance on the way out. Less than 24 hours I am walking without a cane. I look at some of the reviews on his running behind. My experence is with many Drs. and most run behind if they spend the time needed with each patient. In my case, as bad as my knee was when I walked in, I most likely held others up behind me, but he took the time to put me back in the "able to walk category." He was not wasting time to do it, just doing it correctly, with a little compassion for pain. Great Doctor ... well worth the wait. I am sure there are plenty of other Drs. in San Antonio in the same field, that are well qualified, but I have found the highest level of service and the greatest satisfaction level and I am a tough customer after 44 lifetime surgeries, many orthopedic. He passes my test and has my highest recommendation. Worth the wait!

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on January 31st, 2012

Excellent diagnostic skills using latest technology. Explains MRIs and Xray results in understandable terminology. Fully explains all options and pros and cons of each. This is the the Doc you are looking for if you need Ortho consultation or work

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Army Specialist

Posted on January 13th, 2012

Listen my children and you shall hear of the midnight ride of GQG! Man in black? "Boxer" from Animal Farm? Doctor? Colonel? NO!!!...ASSHOL ...

Accurate Diagnosis
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Woman

Posted on December 29th, 2011

This man does not respect women. He uses women. He even says, "I don't want you to think I am "only" trying to screw you". ...

Accurate Diagnosis
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Gerald Greenfield is similar to the following 3 Doctors near San Antonio, TX.