The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Gerard Maritato Is this you?

Filter Reviews

12 Ratings • 6 Comments

3.4
  • 6
  • 0
  • 2
  • 0
  • 4

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
38.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Gerard Maritato?

Showing 12 of 12 Ratings

Five Stars

Posted on December 1st, 2016

I see some of the negative comments people make about this doctor, and it says more about themselves than it does about him. I saw him in the ER a few weeks ago, where I needed a painful procedure done. I was extremely nervous. dr M spnt a lot of time calming me down and preparing me. It took a long time before I was able to go through with it. hen visitied my room several times until I was ready. When he did the procedure, his skill was so good that I had no pain at all. later I found ou that he stayed an hour past when his shift wwas done for me. The discharge nurse told me that he always does right by the patients and they are always glad when he works.

Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Amazing

Posted on June 28th, 2016

I went to the ER twice. Once when i thought i was misscarrying my twins ( in which not much later i did lose one baby ) he was absolutely the most comforting, nice doctor i ever encountered. This time as i sit here waiting to be discharged im again, very happy and pleased with this gentlemen. His bedside manner is the most proffesional and comforting that i have seen in a long time. For those giving him bad reviews, might possibly be that maybe you have no patients or filter?

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

rude and arrogant

Posted on February 27th, 2016

My daughter went to the ER with extreme pain - another kidney stone- in which he told her to stop drinking ice tea and drink lemon juice instead. When I started to ask questions he said I was getting him frustrated! Really!! I was concerned about my daughter and I had the right to ask questions. He has no bedside manner and I would never recommend him to anyone.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Daughter of the patient

Posted on February 27th, 2015

My elderly mom had been brought to the ER on three different occasions. The first visit, sent my mom for ct scan and testing for appendicitis, when I KNEW from experience, it was sciatica. The dr. DIDN'T bother to listen. When the test results came back, it wasn't her appendix - what a surprise! The second time mom was brought in, was for leg pain and swelling. I gave him mom's history. Again, without bothering to listen or spend ANY time answering my questions. When I did track him down (behind the desk, gabbing with the nurses), to ask a question after waiting for so long; I very rudely told by Dr. Marittato I was getting on HIS NERVES and to go back and sit down! Again, misdiagnosed my mother as having cellulitis when it turned out to be a BLOOD CLOT! This time I reported him to the patient advocate of the hospital. The third time, he saw my mom before I got to the ER. She had been brought in again with the same leg symptoms, and once again he missed diagnosed her! Thankfully, the shift had changed and I didn't have to deal once again with this rude, arrogant, unprofessional doctor! After talking to the new shift doctor ( who was kind and compassionate towards my elderly mother!), for FIVE MINUTES, ordered the proper tests, and lo' and behold , it was ANOTHER blood clot! From then on, I made SURE to call the ER before my mom arrived, just to be sure this so-called 'experienced' doctor was NOT working at the time! If you EVER come across this man, RUN, DON'T WALK to the nearest exit!! I wouldn't trust this man with removing a splinter!

Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on February 13th, 2012

very kind and takes the time to listen-Write about what you like or dislike about your physician-Write about whether you would recommend-Write as if you are talking to a peer who is asking your opinio n

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Rude, self centered.

Posted on September 29th, 2011

He would not listen to what I had to say. He was rude, and exhibited a disgust in having to listen to me. As if I was holding back from something.Would not recommend.

Wait time
55.0 minutes
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on September 9th, 2015

Four Stars

Posted on August 25th, 2014

Four Stars

Posted on August 24th, 2014

Five Stars

Posted on July 3rd, 2014

Five Stars

Posted on May 20th, 2014

One Star

Posted on May 10th, 2012

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Gerard Maritato is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Scranton, PA.