The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Harbir Makin Is this you?

Filter Reviews

21 Ratings • 8 Comments

4.1
  • 15
  • 0
  • 2
  • 1
  • 3

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
7.7 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Harbir Makin?

Showing 12 of 21 Ratings

extremely satisfied patient

Posted on October 15th, 2012

I am very satisfied with the care provided by Dr. Makin. He was extremely thorough and professional. I felt the tests he offered in office were necessary and convenient for me when I was in a lot of pain. He quickly referred me to another great physician for gall bladder surgery. The EKG done in his office saved me the time and expense of a pre-op hospital visit. He offered to provide a "doctor's note" when I had to cancel a vacation, which saved us hundreds of dollars in cancellation fees due to the medical emergency.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on August 22nd, 2011

This drs staff is very friendly

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

excellent

Posted on June 8th, 2011

Excellent diagnostic skills, easy to talk to, listens and is caring. Staff is very friendly. In house lab and billing eases pain of illness. Easy to get appointments for established patients

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on May 21st, 2011

I've been seeing Dr. Makin for about 10 years now and in my opinion, he is the best internist in AK. He is very thorough. Like other users had said, he'll run some expensive tests, like he did with me, but I am positive everything was necessary. I had talked to him about all my symptoms and he had accurately diagnosed me, as the tests have proved. I do recommend him to my friends and family and anyone else who may have health issues. This guy will take care of you!

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two Stars

Posted on April 20th, 2011

Unless you have something minor, sinus infection, strep, something easily diagnosed or fixable with perscription, dont bother seeing this doctor. I agree with other user posts, runs lots of expensive tests and cant find anything wrong and I tried serveral medications that made me feel worse. Also they cant keep their billing correct. Always over charging me after insurance paid and myself paying my copay. Mw coworker dropped them for this reason as well. Also on long term meds likes blood pressure or sleep meds, wont write you a scrip for several months, thats the hook to keep you coming back. Go to lower 48 and see a real doctor if you have something major or neurological.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on March 13th, 2011

Dr. Makin is a very knowledgeable physician. I do think he has correctly diagnosed my health issues but I don't feel that the various medications I've been prescribed are entirely appropriate.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on March 4th, 2010

I was not happy with how this doctor handled my visit. I was having some frightening health issues and went to see him. It was my first visit with him and after only 15 minutes of talking with me I was given 2 major prescriptions and scheduled for several expensive tests. I have no doubts that if he had taken time to really talk to me I would have saved thousands of dollars. The prescriptions turned out to be unneeded and I was able to resolve the issues without any of the input given by this doctor.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

The best Internist/Dr. in all Alaska

Posted on February 15th, 2009

I have been a patient of Dr. Makin for several years, and he is by far the best Dr. I have ever been to, and I have been to many!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on May 24th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on November 25th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on November 25th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on November 30th, 2015

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Harbir Makin is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Anchorage, AK.