The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Harold Chung Is this you?

Filter Reviews

20 Ratings • 16 Comments

4.9
  • 19
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
18.7 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Harold Chung?

Showing 12 of 20 Ratings

Brilliant Doctor

Posted on September 8th, 2017

Detailed and knowledeble

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Graduated!

Posted on July 26th, 2016

I was afraid, very afraid. I wasn't sure what to expect from the chemotherapy let alone the bone marrow transplant. Dr. Chung saw that within the first 5 minutes of my first consultation with him so he took a step back and talked to me about other things and made me realize the reasons we go through therapy in the first place. We were able to continue with our discussion about treatment options and what to expect. What surprised me again was his compassion and he (and his BMT coordinator Judy) went out of his way to find a patient with a similar disease and stage to call me at my home and talk to me and give me their perspective from a patient standpoint which helped me tremendously. I'm glad I made that decision to forward... it's been 5.5 years since my transplant and I have not regretted that decision one bit.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

He was very reassuring

Posted on August 27th, 2015

We were terrified. We just got the diagnosis of leukemia from our long-term family doctor. We were referred to an oncologist but were still very confused and scared. We talked to some friends who recommended Dr. Chung for a second opinion. And we were so glad we did. Dr. Chung got us in and sat down with us and went through the diagnosis, treatment options and then his recommendations based on our situation but also our family needs and concerns. Highly recommend him even if it's just to talk and get some understanding of your cancer.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Eased my mind

Posted on June 15th, 2015

I was in dire straits. I just got a lot of bad news from my primary care doctor and met with a popular but busy oncologist who said I needed a bone marrow transplant. I was scared about that consult but I met with Dr. Chung and he put me, my wife and my daughter at ease about the process. He took the time to explain things, made sure we had our questions answered and even drew up a care plan of how things were going to go. I'm happy to say that everything has gone well and I couldn't be happier... both my transplant is done and Dr. Chung made every bit of a difference for all of my family and me.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on April 8th, 2015

Dr Chung is very knowledgeable in his field, but also is one of the most compassionate physicians I've ever encountered. He educates you and answers your questions in a way that the average patient can understand.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

In remission!

Posted on January 30th, 2015

Great experience. I was nervous as can be about my cancer. My friend works at MCV Hospitals and recommended Dr. Chung for a second opinion, and I'm glad I did! He saw me, reviewed everything that had been done and explained everything in the workup so far. He was able to go over a plan of care and I have been doing well ever since. And that was 3 years ago!

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

I trust him

Posted on May 19th, 2014

I'm usually suspicious of the health care system sometimes, probably something to do with my past dealings. I was backed in to a corner and needed a second opinion. I was ready... and so was Dr. Chung. We talked for a good long while and after my first barrage of questions, I knew he was the one for me. I transferred my care... the transplant did not take as long as I thought it would. I was even surprised when Dr. Chung sat down with me one afternoon and announced they were done... the transplant process was complete and I was back in remission and ready to go on with my life again. I can't thank him enough... but more so just putting me at ease with the idea of transplant. Thank you, Sir.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on May 3rd, 2013

Most impressive. I had aggressive myeloma and thought I had done my homework before coming in to discuss options. Dr. Chung sat with me and my family to discuss many options and I came away with a much better understanding and relief that we were able to draw out a treatment plan. And that was 6 years ago and I'm still doing well... and at 73, still shooting in the 80's on my favorite golf course.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on March 12th, 2013

I was panicked with fear with newly diagnosed cancer. I went to see Dr. Chung as advised by a friend of mine who had taken care of by him years ago. Dr. Chung made me feel at ease. He sat down with me to discuss my diagnosis, go over the possible options and we chose a plan that was tailored to my needs (somewhat) and I am now 4 years out and cancer free!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Patient

Posted on January 12th, 2012

In Stem Cell Transplant program...Dr. Chung is one of 4 doctor team.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Fantastic Doctor

Posted on November 1st, 2011

Great doctor. Saw my husband quickly during our time of need and helped us and our family during a difficult time.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

he saved her life

Posted on May 14th, 2011

dr chung is incredible. he is compassionate, caring, goes beyond any measure to make the patient and family informed and comfortable. He is not afraid to question other doctors involved in the patients care. if only every doctor could be half the doctor he is !!!he saved my sisters life when her other doctors gave up.!

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Harold Chung is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Richmond, VA.