The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Jack Cates Is this you?

Filter Reviews

9 Ratings • 5 Comments

3.6
  • 5
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • 3

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
7 min
Appropriate Followup

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Jack Cates?

Showing 9 of 9 Ratings

Five Stars

Posted on May 7th, 2016

Prompt and efficient wonderful doctor made my experience actually Pleasant.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on May 4th, 2016

The front office and nurse were very kind, but the doctor acted like he didn't have time for me. My visit was supposed to be an all over check and he barely looked at me.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr. Cates is wonderful.

Posted on March 20th, 2016

Dr. Cates has been ny dermatologist since I was around 14 years old and I am 51 now. He has always been very friendly and down to earth. He really knows what he is doing. I have had several procedures done by him, and never had any problems at all. I trust him, period. It means a lot to me that I can go to him for a procedure and not worry about it at all. I do highly recommend him.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on December 20th, 2014

Misdiagnosed with cancer without a biopsy. Went for a second opinion. Second doctor did a biopsy to discover it was only a rash. Found him curt and lacking a friendly bedside manner.I would recommend you shop elsewhere.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

What a waste of time!

Posted on January 28th, 2012

Upon arriving I noticed there were no other patients. This was the middle of the afternoon. That should have been my first clue a dermatologist that you can get an appointment this quick that has no other patients in the waiting room. I had some prior history with skin issues and have experienced several annual exams. Dr. Cates entered the room and asked what brings me in today. Midway through my explanation, he cut me off and began examining the areas I was pointing out that concerned me. Not once but three times he smacked my hand out of the way to take a 2 second glance at the area. He dismissed everything I pointed out with no explanation as to what they were. After about a minute of looking at the rest of my body (and I am hairy) he left the room with instructions for me to return if anything changes shape or color. No annual exam needed. He was in the room for 5-6 minutes tops.It was not like he had patients waiting and was rushed to get to everyone. He treated me as if my concerns did not matter. I have since made an appointment with another dermatologist (which took a month to get) for what I hope will be a real annual exam. If you are considering going to Dr. Cates, beware the parking lot is empty for a reason!

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on November 21st, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on June 15th, 2016

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on November 17th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on July 3rd, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Jack Cates is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Hot Springs National Park, AR.