The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Jackie Syme Is this you?

Filter Reviews

37 Ratings • 12 Comments

3.0
  • 13
  • 0
  • 8
  • 3
  • 13

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
12.1 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Jackie Syme?

Showing 12 of 37 Ratings

just ok

Posted on May 7th, 2014

Dr syme is a very stright forword doctor and dont mess around I'v been going to him for 5 years and he has helped me very much but he can inprove on his bedside manners and also to come to work dressed like a doctor . Lucy has always been nice to me and will work hard to get you any help you need

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Heartless and full of drama

Posted on November 26th, 2013

Dr Syme office is clean it's not a long wait and you don't need to worry about staying to long! That is the only good things I can say about this office. In the time I've been going to dr Syme I've been double charged on my appointments due to bad bookkeeping, I was once accused and frisked by dr Syme for his missing script booklet and he locked me and one other in his office and frisked us! He ended up realizing he closed it in his scheduling book, we received no apology and I have opened a case about it with the ethics! He also has and shows no compassion for his patients and you can expect to be thrown in a battle between him and his secretary. He also yells on the phone to his children and talks about his ex wife and their drama openly to his secretary as if you are not in the room. And I will also add he is not ethnic friendly, in the years I've been going to his office I have never seen any race other than white. And they are not compassionate to any personal matters, they will not reschedule or work with you in any way. In fact you should use caution with this doctor because if they have vacation or holidays they have been known to extend peoples visits 1-2 weeks later than what it should be and when you are in the pain management that is something you should never have happen to you due to with draws. This doctor doesn't have any good qualities beyond the old magazine clippings posted on his wall.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Excellent Physician/Neurologist, extensive background (Clinical Neurophysiologists)

Posted on August 13th, 2013

I was born with a very rare disease/tumor as well as undergone over 70 surgeries within my lifetime (head/face area). Dr. Syme has treated me throughout a period of time (last couple of yrs.) that literally has improved the quality of my life (significantly). Dr. Syme has taken the time throughout each visit to inquire about any recent infections/illnesses I may have gotten (I have an extremely weakened immune system), along with any other changes that might have occurred – this happens to be ongoing with my system due to my condition. Although I may have intermittent issues/problems with my health/condition, Dr. Syme has always remained on top of my condition and I believe also understands how important it is for me to remain productive (both with work and within my personal life). Throughout treatment, Dr. Syme has made a point to fully understand all facets of the disease I have lived with and the complications that have arisen because of my susceptibility to infections and other illnesses (some have been extremely severe at times). Finally, both Dr. Syme and his assistant have always addressed any/all issues I have had with regards to insurance or my treatment plan – superb and professional, always. This office operates with immense integrity. Anyone choosing to make an appt. with Dr. Syme should feel confident that they will be cared for with the same integrity and professionalism.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on June 5th, 2013

First, in order to get an appointment, the referring physician office must fax referral and records, then the one staff member, will call you (sometime, who knows when?) to schedule your appointment. You can not take referral or call for appointment. Took 2 months for this process. Doctor refused medication that was used for previous 3 years, yet offered much stronger medication. There is no such thing as an emergency appointment at this office! No problem delaying your appointment until you have run out of medication. Doctor has no bedside manners and sits in office doing who knows what instead of seeing patient for 5 minute appointment. There are 2 staff members, doctor and receptionist. Neither of which care to help you. It's all about the money in this office. Office looks like an episode of hoarders as stated in previous reviews.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

you call him at doctor ?

Posted on August 25th, 2012

i never go back anymore to this doctor , is easy to get apoiment but when you there the doctor he dont do anyting he just seat on hes office and make u wake after that talk to you for 8 to 10 mins and just dunno what medicine he go get you i back to the hospital cuz him , i just i have at migrane i have alot pain all do time and he never get me at good medicine .

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr Report

Posted on August 23rd, 2012

Fast service. Helpful

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

New Patient

Posted on July 12th, 2012

I was referred by AAMedical Emergency doctor; physician sent me for tests and I followed his instructions and when I became ill during the testing, he wouldn't talk to me or offer a resolution. When I called his office to bring back films, I was told I couldn't see him for two weeks; pain and nausea prevented me from working and I was left to my own devices. Had to search for a new doctor, new tests, etc. so that I could find out what was going on in my head and get appropriate treatment. Didn't seem to have any remorse for patient. Not very good manners from physician or receptionist. Office was unkept and didn't give you a strong sense of organization or cleanliness.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Patient Appropriate 60 Second Questionaire Updates Doctor

Posted on February 7th, 2012

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

One Star

Posted on July 8th, 2011

Horrible practice! One desk person as his entire staff. She is VERY rude and abrupt and he is a slob and very rude! He had food on his shirt every time I have gone there and the buttons on his shirt were ready to pop. Office is a mess and his 'exam' room doubles as storage. Don't go!!

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

All about business

Posted on December 20th, 2010

I'll admit Dr. Syme doesn't have the BEST bedside manner and he is very serious, straight laced and doesn't joke around with his patients; at least not with me. But all in all, he does his job well and does it professionally. I've only been seeing him for about 9 months and so far, I really don't have any complaints.As for the staff, I can see how someone might consider them to be unprofessional...but again, they are very serious and straight laced and all about business. I've never had them be nasty with me; as a matter of fact, I've had emergencies on a couple of occasions that I've called me away when my appointment is due to happen and they've squeeze me in without a problem. I personally would recommend Dr. Syme and his staff without reservation.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

VERY POOR SERVICE

Posted on October 27th, 2010

The front office staff in this office are quite offensive ande rude, they are not willing to answer any questions on the phone, will scream at you and then hang up on you. If you are looking for a doctor that has some professionalism anywhere in their office then this is not the place for you. You have no ability to obtain your own medical records as they do not get them transcribed after the doctor has dictated his notes. It is very unfortunate that patients who are in need of a Neurologist in Maryland that they should ever get referred to Dr Syme for they will not receive proper care for any of their needs.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on March 15th, 2010

I am really glad to have found Dr. Syme - he listens and gives honest feedback. He explains things without sounding pompous. He refers me to a specialist when he doesn't know an answer. I so very much appreciate his honesty.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Jackie Syme is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Silver Spring, MD.