The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. James Mayer Is this you?

Filter Reviews

23 Ratings • 6 Comments

4.0
  • 15
  • 2
  • 1
  • 1
  • 4

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
18.1 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Mayer?

Showing 12 of 23 Ratings

Five Stars

Posted on April 3rd, 2015

I love love love dr.Mayer! he is absolutely amazing doctor !! We got our baby girl, and very blessed !! Thank you dr.Mayer for your magic!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great Doctor. Thorough, caring & gentle

Posted on July 31st, 2013

I saw Dr. Mayer in 2008 for infertility... He was so thorough in his testing, he found a huge dermoid cyst on my ovary the size of a grapefruit... he took it out & save 50% of my ovary & it still functions..i had 4 IUI's with no luck but he was not Pushing us for us to go into IVF telling us to be patient because of everything testing normal. In 2009 we had our first successful & natural pregnancy & had our son in 2010. Sept 2013 baby #2 is on his way.He also helped out my fried with PCOS...she had a beautiful baby girl with her first IUI in 2012. Since moving to FL I have had horrible experiences with various doctors in various specialties. Dr. Mayer is a gem!

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Did my HSG & it was as good as it gets!

Posted on May 31st, 2013

I actually am a patient of Dr. Plotsker, but Dr. Mayer attended my HSG & I had to leave a review of his very kind and considerate treatment during this procedure. I had read and heard stories about how difficult the HSG could be; and I was so impressed by Dr. Mayer's bedside manner. He explained everything that was happening as it happened, went very slowly and it didn't hurt a bit. He also showed me the slides after the proceedure and explained what he saw. I really like Dr. Plotsker, but would also recommend Dr. Mayer if this is representative of his work and style.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Wonderful!!!!

Posted on July 26th, 2012

Anyone on this planet who leaves Dr. Mayer a bad review must be crazy. I have been going to him for three years. Initially, to obtain a diagnosis. Then we decided to go forward with IUI, which Dr. Mayer advised against, but because of the lower cost we went ahead and tried it three times. Then we took time off to save and prepare for IVF which was Dr. Mayer's initial treatment suggestion. I have probably been to the office 30 or more times. He did my 2 saline infusion sonograms, my hysterosalpingogram, and NUMEROUS transvaginal ultrasounds. I was so scared of the HSG because so many people told me it was going to be super painful. When I told Dr. Mayer I was scared he said very kindly, "What for? You won't feel a thing". And he was right. Everytime I have had an appointment he takes plenty of time to talk to my husband and myself. Never leaves the room until all of your questions are answered fully. He draws detailed pictures for you so you understand. He is pretty blunt, but I appreciate that. And I have never thought that he was blunt in a mean way. I am a nurse and I deal with MANY doctors on a daily basis and the large majority of doctors are pretty arrogant and act like it is a privilege to speak to them. Dr. Mayer acts like he is a friend but at a professional distance. I can't speak highly enough of him and his incredible office staff. You leave a message and they call you back. You never feel like a "customer" but like they are genuinely there to help you. I have referred my personal friends to Dr. Mayer and have never had anyone complain. I just hope when people leave bad reviews it's not because they are just mad at a poor prognosis. If I don't get pregnant it won't be because of Dr. Mayer and his staff. However, the billing department at USF is terrible.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

not the best

Posted on July 15th, 2012

I have seen this doctor the very first time we decided to seek infertility treatments and he made me cry, he assured us we have less than 2% chance getting pregnant because of poor morphology from the 2 semen analysis, when all the other semen analysis done at diff. offices were normal. when I asked him how can it change from one office to another, he said that their embryologist manually checks the sperm, as oppose to computerized. he sent us a letter home saying that ivf with icsi is our only chance. he was wrong. we went on to see a doc at reproductive medicine group and because the practice is so big and they have so many patients they are concentrated on the money, so we found dr. Welden- a God sent!!! he evaluated us, spent time with us even on weekends while we were doing iui's. I am trully blessed for finding dr. welden as he does not even compare to dr. Mayer who has so much to learn from Dr. welden and all of the reproductive specialists should learn patient care from dr. Welden. I am thankful for a dr who does not think he is God, unlike others and who is not in practice just to make money through IVF but is kind, friendly and NEVER rushes with a patient. Dr. Mayer should really consider learning to care and live for the money.

Wait time
20 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Best doctor we have found

Posted on March 10th, 2011

James Mayer is a very good doctor. He listens to your problems and answers any type of questions. He is a very knowledgeable doctor. He makes you comfortable and tries his best to solve your problem and gives best treatment. I would 100% recommend this doctor.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on January 15th, 2016

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on November 17th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Four Stars

Posted on November 7th, 2015

Three Stars

Posted on September 15th, 2015

Five Stars

Posted on August 27th, 2015

Five Stars

Posted on August 7th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. James Mayer is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Tampa, FL.