The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. James Di Maio Is this you?

Filter Reviews

18 Ratings • 9 Comments

3.8
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 1
  • 2

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
19.4 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Di Maio?

Showing 12 of 18 Ratings

Four Stars

Posted on February 13th, 2015

he is a good doctor

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on July 25th, 2014

I have yet to see the Doctor! I have seen his assistant who is very nice, but she is not a doctor. Do I need a special invitation to see him?

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Extremely poor office staff skills

Posted on July 14th, 2014

First of all I would like to praise Dr. Dimaio for wonderful people skills and level of comfort he shows. He takes the time the time to listen. It is so unfortunately that his front office staff is so rude. My wife calls in this morning for an appointment and the woman who and the phone but lyrics says there is no appt at all does not even ask what the problem and says well there is nothing she can do. At the very least she could have asked what seems to be the problem and maybe taken the time to ask the either the doctor or the N.P. if she could have squeezed her in. Nothing she did not even bother to ask her what her name was. So we ended up going to am urgent care clinic and pay out of pocket even though we have insurance - Tricare ( I am active duty military) . This is the problem when front office staff gets lazy and does not understand what it means to work in a patient service environment. The least she could have done was ask if she could do anything or give another suggestion, but instead she hung the phone very abruptly. So sad to see this happen when people go unsupervised.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two Stars

Posted on November 26th, 2011

i think the office staff is very rude and abrupt. Dr Dimaio yet a kind man does not seem to ease my thoughts of whether or not he is a true Dr with ture direction that I should base my health on in full confidence. I had a sypmtoms of a UTI and he didnt test my urine so how would you know what strain of bacteria to treat in my urine to eliminate the problem?? just left a big question ? never mind there seemed to be alot of out of office activity below that was very odd?

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

bad

Posted on May 22nd, 2011

a bad doctor

Wait time
55.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Just What the Dr. Ordered!

Posted on April 25th, 2011

Dr. D. as I like to call him is a rare combination of medical expertise and great compassion. Here is a Doctor who will do whatever he can to help and at the same time knows how to talk to and treat people. He seems to keep his practice smaller than most. As a result, when you go for a visit you do not feel like head of cattle, but a human being worthy of care. You will never get "lost in the sauce" with him...EVER. My husband and I have been with him for well over three years now.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

good doctor

Posted on January 28th, 2011

Overall the Dr is great but the receptionists are not friendly and not helpful at all and never want to schedule any visits for pts! His office would be better with new staff!

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Grateful Patients

Posted on August 29th, 2010

Dr. Dimaio is an excellent diagnostician who leaves no stone unturned. Importantly, he has a very calm manner which in turn helps you to be calm. In addition, he is very kind and thoughtful. His office is not like a meat market. He has a small practice, deliberately so he can best serve his patients. In other words, he is not a greedy pig, like one Dr. in Rockville Centre that I know of.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Patient and caring

Posted on September 18th, 2009

Our experience with Dr. DiMaio is that he believes in the old way of doctoring. Taking time to listen to our illnesses and asking the proper questions. He is not one to send you to all different exams (where not needed) but very thorough in his examination and conclusions. Excellent in bedside manner, very caring doctor. I highly recommend him

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on August 19th, 2016

Four Stars

Posted on July 29th, 2016

Three Stars

Posted on February 11th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. James Di Maio is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Carle Place, NY.