The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. James Mixon Is this you?

Filter Reviews

19 Ratings • 9 Comments

3.6
  • 8
  • 3
  • 2
  • 3
  • 3

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
19.2 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Mixon?

Showing 12 of 19 Ratings

Responsible and Personable

Posted on September 16th, 2016

He is very patient. If you see him, he is careful to answer and follow up on all questions. If it is not his field, he has no problem referring your issues to the right person. He excels with the elderly .

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on March 29th, 2016

Excellent care And knowledge of the medical problems Explains in Oder that one adequately understands.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Care is not something to write home about ....

Posted on February 5th, 2016

I left his care after years of coming up short . Waiting room stays were often over an hour and then once called back to examination room could easily be an additional 15-20 min. He was not sensitive to needs or concerns and often attributes "problems" to age, after which he may simply say a very hot shower would help. (actually happen a few times) He is NOT one to order diagnostic test at all, takes an act of congress. If you are seeking impersonal run-around care, he is definitely the doctor for you. Not bitter, just matter of fact and quite a shame.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on May 4th, 2015

outstanding Dr

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Daughter of Patient

Posted on February 18th, 2013

This is the first Doctor that has ever called me about my mother's care! He took the time to talk to me in detail. I was able to ask him questions and he gave me detailed, practical information in how to best care for my mother's health without my feeling rushed. His nurse has ALWAYS returned my calls or have answered my questions immediately. I've had nothing but a positive experience with Dr. Mixon and his staff.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on October 19th, 2011

The address in this website is wrong, not surprising because he doesn't keep his patient records straight either. No followup, hard to contact, doesn't return phone calls, and not good at listening or responding to patient needs.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on June 9th, 2010

I have been a patient since 1989 when Dr. Mixon was with Sentara. He is very knowledgable and professional. Over the years, he has given me great instruction and has thoroughly answered any questions I have had. The staff is great as well! You may have to wait for a an appointment, but you will not be disappointed.

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

But He's A Nice Guy . . .

Posted on October 2nd, 2009

The good thing for me is that he doesn't urge me to have tests I don't want. But he screws up paperwork, including writing prescriptions wrong, and never follows up or checks back to see why you were there last time and if your issues have been resolved. Also, "nerves" is not a disgnosis.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on July 8th, 2008

Dr. Mixon is not just a fine doctor but he is an outstanding individual who trully cares not only about your physical well-being but also cares about you as a person.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two Stars

Posted on March 13th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on April 28th, 2016

Four Stars

Posted on January 19th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. James Mixon is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Hampton, VA.