The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. James Patterson Is this you?

Filter Reviews

41 Ratings • 10 Comments

3.8
  • 24
  • 1
  • 5
  • 4
  • 7

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
28.8 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Patterson?

Showing 12 of 41 Ratings

Worst OB Ever

Posted on June 28th, 2017

I don't know where the positive reviews are coming from. Dr. Patterson has never spent more than 3 minutes (I've literally starting time him!) with me. I'm almost 40 in a high risk pregnancy with virtually no prenatal care due to the fact that he won't ask questions, tell me anything, and has one foot out the door the instant I try to ask him anything. I was a previous c section and at 29 weeks I have no idea if he's going to schedule one or not! He never even gave me a due date, never asks how I and the baby are doing. He just walks in, listens to her heartbeat, makes a few unrelated comments and tells me to come back in --- weeks. Unbelievable. I don't believe the positive reviews at all.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Worst OB Ever

Posted on June 28th, 2017

I don't know where the positive reviews are coming from. Dr. Patterson has never spent more than 3 minutes (I've literally starting time him!) with me. I'm almost 40 in a high risk pregnancy with virtually no prenatal care due to the fact that he won't ask questions, tell me anything, and has one foot out the door the instant I try to ask him anything. I was a previous c section and at 29 weeks I have no idea if he's going to schedule one or not! He never even gave me a due date, never asks how I and the baby are doing. He just walks in, listens to her heartbeat, makes a few unrelated comments and tells me to come back in --- weeks. Unbelievable. I don't believe the positive reviews at all.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Bad Doctor Alert

Posted on June 26th, 2016

Dr.Patterson is a terrible doctor. He rushes through EVERYTHING. He won't tell you any of your results unless you specifically ask. I couldn't imagine letting him deliver my baby. He's in such a rush he might forget something. He should truly be ashamed with how he treats his patients. ALL he cares about is the MONEY! It's not a good feeling to not be able to trust your doctor. That's exactly why I fired that sloppy loser.

Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Horrible Doctor

Posted on June 21st, 2016

He is in a rush & not a good doctor. Don't waste your time. He tells you that "I don't know what to do" & then will simply hang up the phone on you.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

No other doctor like him!!!!

Posted on May 9th, 2016

I have been going to Dr. James K. Patterson for over 26 years and not once have I had anything to complain about. Some of these people that are putting him down don't understand. Dr Patterson trys to spend at least 15 mins with a patient without interrupting his other clients. Also he delivers babies on a regular and have to be on call so some of you ladies need to have patience with him. If he spent over 45 minutes with every client , they will not be seen real tawk..

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

No other doctor like him!!!!

Posted on May 2nd, 2016

I just love Dr. James K. Patterson. I wouldn't change him for nothing in the world. He is kind hearted, makes sure his patients are comfortable and at ease and gives direct prognosis whether good or bad. He also keep me laughing at every visit.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Need better receptionist

Posted on March 31st, 2016

He's a great doctor but his medical assistants aren't properly trained to do their jobs

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on March 12th, 2015

BEST OBGYN I HAVE EVER HAD DR. JAMES PATTERSON IS THE BEST

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr. James is the best!

Posted on October 7th, 2013

I have been a patient for 22 years now. Dr. James delivered all 3 of my children, has performed 4 surgeries on me, and is currently treating my menopausal symptoms. I have never had any issues with either of the doctors or any of the staff. Eveyone has a doctor they feel comfortable with and for me that is Dr. James.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two Stars

Posted on December 19th, 2010

He is very nice, but just is always in a hurry!

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on May 23rd, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on May 23rd, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. James Patterson is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Memphis, TN.