ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. James Shields Jr Is this you?

Filter Reviews

38 Ratings • 12 Comments

3.1
  • 16
  • 2
  • 2
  • 4
  • 14

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
37.9 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Shields Jr?

Showing 12 of 38 Ratings

One Star

Posted on October 22nd, 2016

Worst doctor ever

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on September 27th, 2016

Dr Shields was my DR for 2 yrs. He was rude and every time I went to him. I was crying after every visit because of how he talked to me. My knees are messed up and need replacing and he wants me to walk and lose weight. Impossible for me to do !!!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Thief! Unstable! Needs to have license taken away!

Posted on December 31st, 2015

This doctor screamed and yelled at me and this was on my first visit ( I hadn't even asked him to prescribe me any medication). When I asked him to stop he told me to shut up and told me there wasn't a time for me to ask questions only time for him to say what he wanted to say. He said I hadn't given him my entire medical record as he sat at his desk with an entire copy of my medical file from my referring physician, he just didn't want to take the time to read it. His staff is scared of him and have been poorly trained on basic issues like HIPPA and patient billing. I was scared that he might physically attack me if I stayed in his office any longer which was a small room with just me and him and he locked us in with a key that he kept and wouldn't tell me why he locked the door with a key. When I went to the front desk to ask for the telephone number to the main office to make a complaint about how he treated me and asked them if they heard him yelling at me, he came out of his office and stood over his staff to keep them from saying that they heard it. All of this after I waited 3 hours to see him, he has some serious mental health issues and should not be practicing medicine at all!! He is a danger to his patients!!

Wait time
56 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on April 21st, 2015

Your treatment will depend on his mood swings. If you are lucky on a good day, Mr. Shields will talk to you for 5 min. Don't worry you will know what kind of mood he is in due to the tension or quietness of his staff. The older he gets the worse it is. Please save your energy and money, find yourself a compassionate DR who actually listens and cares, instead of someone who tells you to leave your problems at the door.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Excellent Experience

Posted on May 16th, 2014

Dr. Shields is a experienced and down to earth doctor that is rare in this day and age. I was made to feel comfortable and relaxed during my visit. Dr. Shields addresed my condition and prescribed the needed meds. for me.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Bad Experiance!!

Posted on October 22nd, 2013

I have seen this Dr. Three times and my wait time was over two hrs and the other people that was in the waiting room was complaining about the same thing!I This Dr does not have any mercy on your pain at all.He does not lisson or communicate with you!!Wow is all I can say!! I have never been seen by such a horrible Dr. In all my life!!! Please take my advice and go somewhere else there is a lot of pain Drs.out there so do not go to this one!!!Thanks

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

A Visit with Dr. Shield

Posted on March 12th, 2012

I think the world of Dr. Shield and most of his staff. He has been wonderful to me, so I could not complain. He is one of the most caring doctor's I know. His nurse is the best when you need help with anything.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

D Smith

Posted on April 5th, 2011

Dr. Shields is is respectful, patient and understanding. He is also a "regular guy" who seems to know more about life than just being a doctor. I was referred to him for treatment of multi-level lower disc and sciatic injuries and he quickly addressed the most severe symptoms, got me sleeping, and back in my right mind and back on my way to getting healthy so I could function to support my family. His staff is always warm and friendly. If you treat them with respect, they treat you very well. The person leaving a bad review here is probably a pill shopper who didn't get their fix right away. If you are a patient with real pain, willing to follow his treatment plan, you will receive good treatment, whether it is meds, therapy or injections.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr. Shields

Posted on February 3rd, 2011

From the very start his staff do their best to put you at ease. Dr.Shields is very efficient and puts you at ease quickly. He tells you what has been foundand the best way to treat your problem. Dr. Shields talks to you in regular language so you know what is going on.I am so glad my Internist referred me to him. He is a GREAT Dr. and a good man.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Awesome Doctor!

Posted on November 1st, 2010

I have been a patient of Dr. Shields for quite some time now, and he has ALWAYS treated me with respect. He listens to all of my problems, and then forms a plan of care to meet my needs. His staff is always so nice on the phone, and in person. Although they see a large amount of patients daily, from what i can tell, they treat each and every patient nicely. If you are looking for a good pain doctor, be referred to Dr. Shields. He is wonderful!

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Thief

Posted on August 10th, 2010

This man is a horrible doctor. He does not do his job and he stole money from me. He is a horrible man as well as a horrible doctor. If you want someone who cares about your pain and not how much money he can suck out of you, go somewhere else!

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Horrible Doctor

Posted on April 22nd, 2010

If you are looking for someone to help you with pain, go somewhere else.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. James Shields Jr is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Greensboro, GA.