The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. James Shortt Is this you?

Filter Reviews

13 Ratings • 7 Comments

1.8
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • 10

Quality Rating

Dissatisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
34.6 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Shortt?

Showing 12 of 13 Ratings

One Star

Posted on January 29th, 2017

Worse Orthopedic DR Around big with Ins companies probably only way he stays in business!

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on May 20th, 2016

My visit with Dr. Shortt was the worst experience I ever had with any type of doctor. His bedside manner does not even exist and what time he spends discussing options or answering questions was short to say the least. On my follow up visit the office did not have the MRI report and I sat for over an hour waiting, until they asked me if I would mind going to "pick them up" and bring them back. The Imaging staff told me they always have trouble with Dr. Shortt's staff and phones! When I did question his medical advice he was annoyed and raised his voice to me. When my husband and I tried to get more answers to his suggestions he told me to "go get a second opinion"! Which I did and am much better off. Terrible experience which I discussed with my insurance company.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Poor bedside manner

Posted on April 8th, 2015

Dr. Shortt was one of the rudest doctors I've ever met. He didn't even shake my hand and introduce himself to me when he walked in the exam room. He barely let me explain my issues before interrupting me with his diagnosis before he even examined me. Then he insulted me by saying he could see how bad my scoliosis was through my shirt and I was severely deformed. How rude! Never would recommend this doctor to any friends or family.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on April 4th, 2015

If he can't make a bunch of money off of your problem, he's not interested in helping you.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on January 30th, 2015

Rude and unprofessional. He insulted members of the VA health care system to me (a veteran) and called me a liar for forgetting to mention a possible pinched nerve which was seemingly to me to be unrelated to my current injury. Very displeased with his attitude and would not recommended him to anyone simply due to his lack of compassion and empathy.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great job on my shoulder.

Posted on July 16th, 2012

Thank you for your care and understanding as I was going through this very painful time. My surgery was a success and I feel great now.....I have even gone back to playing tennis again.Thank you!

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

never again

Posted on August 10th, 2011

everything was a disaster..from the staff to the Surgery. It has been over a year and I still can't walk.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on October 11th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on May 11th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Four Stars

Posted on April 20th, 2015

One Star

Posted on July 23rd, 2014

One Star

Posted on June 10th, 2014

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. James Shortt is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Venice, FL.