The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. James Upp Jr Is this you?

Filter Reviews

8 Ratings • 5 Comments

3.5
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
  • 1
  • 2

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
30 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. James Upp Jr?

Showing 8 of 8 Ratings

appendectomy surgery

Posted on November 8th, 2017

Dr. Upp is thorough, patient and knowledgeable. My grandson went in for an emergency appendectomy at OLOL and Dr. Upp explained everything to expect from start to finish. My grandson is doing fine now. I would recommend Dr. Upp for any pediatric surgery.

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Awesome

Posted on July 27th, 2014

Well Dr Upp is definitely not BANNED from womans hospital because he just operated on my daughter and did an outstanding job! I would recommend him to anyone!

Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great

Posted on September 25th, 2013

Don't see how he's BANNED from Woman's Hospital since he operated on my child last week. Great surgeon thus far, A+

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

DO NOT RISK YOUR CHILD'S LIFE!!

Posted on July 30th, 2012

He did a terrible job on my daughter's surgery- leaving her with a feeding tube for 7 years. After surgery- he would not admit his mistakes & left my daughter seizing in ICU. Another physician ended up saving my child's life & told me that was the WORST, most botched up surgery he had ever seen. The other surgeons in this group are amazing- but DON'T see UPP. He is even been BANNED from Woman's Hospital because of his attitude & poor performance. That, alone, speaks VOLUMES right there.

Wait time
55.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Outstanding Surgeon

Posted on January 31st, 2012

Saved my infant sons life, forever indebted. God bless him and those lives that he touches.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two Stars

Posted on May 11th, 2017

One Star

Posted on September 10th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Four Stars

Posted on October 17th, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. James Upp Jr is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Baton Rouge, LA.