The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Jed Groom Is this you?

Filter Reviews

9 Ratings • 6 Comments

2.9
  • 3
  • 0
  • 2
  • 0
  • 4

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
47.2 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Jed Groom?

Showing 9 of 9 Ratings

The Good Doctor

Posted on August 24th, 2017

I have been a patience of Dr. Groom for more than 22 yrs. That alone should say it all but I must go on by saying that he is a true professional, caring Doctor and human Being. When I was hospitalized and diagnosed with a tumor on my pancreas, Dr. Groom paid me a visit every evening I was there just to reassure me. I read a review that said he was just after the money, well let me tell you he lives a simple life and still drives the same old pick up truck he has for many years. Yes it some times is a wait and the exam rooms are not sound proof so you can hear what the other patience's are suffering from but you also hear the same care an concern he offers to them and it never deviates. He has gotten to a point where he can't take on any new patience and some see this as a "selective" process, maybe, but Waimea and west Hawaii have grown considerably over the years and the demand far outweighs the supply of good Doctors which Doctor Jed Groom is!

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

wholistic practioneer, x-fiance from mendocino and santa barbara

Posted on September 28th, 2016

meet him before he was a doctor, he was injuied on a job site. It was an extremely severe injury. it inspired him to go back to med school because the excellent care the surgureon had given him in the hospital. He is a remarkable man and I imagine doctor.

Promptness
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on June 18th, 2013

I have had multiple problems with Dr. Groom, my last visit being the worst. I was trying to understand how a referral worked and he got very rude with me. When I apologized and tried to explain my problem, he told me I was irritating him and to stop talking. When I apologized again and tried to ask my question, he ignored it and told me to take my referral paper to the front desk. I was very shocked and confused on why trying to ask a question turned into him treating me so poorly and unprofessionally. He has also made comments refering to questions I have had on symtoms such as 'I think thats just a woman thing', implying that because I was a woman, it couldn't be a serious issue. On top of that I have had incidents where other members of his staff are rude and unprofessional as well. His patient rooms have no privacy, and you can hear his conversations with all his other patients, and they yours, and inbetween each patient he records audio notes in his office, so you have additional wait time as well as full information on every patients problems. All in all I have found this doctor to be extremely unprofessional, and will be finding a new doctor. I wouldn't recommend him to anyone.

Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Lacks privacy

Posted on April 13th, 2012

Dr. Groom is a good Doctor,always profesional and caring. Only thing I dont like is the Exam rooms are small and not private, you can hear everything that is going on in the other rooms so I guess everyone can hear whats going on in my exam room also,that is my only negative about Dr. Groom.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

The doctor that we all remember

Posted on August 27th, 2011

Dr. Jed Groom is the sort of old fashioned doctor that many of us remember from days long gone. He is thoughtful, attentive, and takes time to care about YOU and diagnose YOUR problem well. What else could someone want from a professional. His bedside manner and medical intelligence are spot on for each and every patient.Due to this caring and careful diagnosis, the reception time can be too long...but the wait is worth your patience. Dr. Groom was recommended to me by friends of mine who work in the medical field.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on February 8th, 2011

this doctor insists that you keep coming in for visits so that he can collect your insurance money. He has a lot of patients and overbooks so that you have to wait for hours at a time...I don't think he cares about the patient just about the money

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on November 30th, 2015

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Three Stars

Posted on July 6th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

One Star

Posted on July 23rd, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Jed Groom is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Kamuela, HI.