The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Joanne Mcalvany Is this you?

Filter Reviews

17 Ratings • 8 Comments

3.2
  • 7
  • 1
  • 1
  • 3
  • 5

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
20.5 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Joanne Mcalvany?

Showing 12 of 17 Ratings

5 minute full body check...

Posted on March 9th, 2015

Went for a full body mole check. The visit lasted about 5 minutes. She asked 2 questions and sent me on my way. The check performed was not thorough at all. She barely checked my scalp. I will not go back .

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

DO NOT see her.

Posted on September 4th, 2013

I was highly disappointed with Dr. McAlvany and her office assistant, Freda, was also quite rude. Freda showed me into my room without a smile, asked me a question then cut me off before I could answer and was just entirely unfriendly. I went to Dermatology Associates of Georgia for a full body check and just took their next open appointment. Dr. McAlvany came in for a total of three minutes. Not only was she condescending but she BARELY even looked at my skin. With a history of melanoma and pre-cancerous basal cell carcinoma cells removed, one would think she would pay close attention to my skin. She never even took my gown off and just quickly glanced over my chest, nor did she look under my underwear. I will NOT be going back to her again and could not believe her carelessness and I seriously cannot believe she has returning patients. You would have to pay me to go to her. So essentially I lost 75 dollars (copay) for a careless, hurried body check when I am at considerable risk for skin cancer.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Doesnt' care

Posted on September 15th, 2012

Dr. Mcalvany spends about 30 seconds in the room, doesn't ask probing questions, scribbles a prescription and leaves. Billing is terrible. This is why people hate dealing with doctors and these common doctor compounds.

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Unprofessional dr. and HORRIBLE OFFICE STAFF and EVEN WORSE BILLING!!!!

Posted on April 29th, 2011

I have seen Dr. Macalvaney three times and will never go back. All if needed each time was a skin cancer screening. She barely said a word to me or even looked at my skin. In fact she did the same thing to my husband. Then her billing office has messed up submitting the claim to my insurance twice. They are incompetent and never return calls. DO NOT GO TO THIS PRACTICE.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

efficient and competent

Posted on January 7th, 2010

Dr McAlvany has seen me and my son for several different problems. She has always been appropriately attentive and efficient and her interventions have been highly effective. She is too busy to make small talk and I appreciate that because I am too!

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Very Courteous

Posted on October 14th, 2009

I was slightly nervous when I came in for my appointment, but Dr. McAlvany made me feel very relaxed. She was very nice and was able to explain my problems to me in a way that was easy to understand. Overall, it was a very pleasant experience.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Didn't Care

Posted on July 8th, 2009

I was in and out of the examining room in under 5 minutes. Doctor didn't seem to care at all and spent minimum time with me. After my main problem was addressed she disappeared so fast that I didn't even have a chance to ask her about something else that bothered me...I have seen Docs before who did not have the best "bedside manner" but none have ever appeared quite this uninterested.

Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Didn't seem to care

Posted on March 25th, 2009

I saw Dr. McAlvany in 2008 and she didn't spend any time with me. I felt like she wondered why I was there. I asked her about two spots that I thought were a problem, and both turned out to be problems and were removed. She didn't think there was anything wrong. I had a biopsy done today and am waiting the results. I would not recommend seeing this dermatologist.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on June 15th, 2017

Four Stars

Posted on October 25th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on February 17th, 2016

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

One Star

Posted on May 28th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Joanne Mcalvany is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Monroe, GA.