The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Joel Parker Is this you?

Filter Reviews

30 Ratings • 14 Comments

3.2
  • 14
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 10

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
19.4 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Joel Parker?

Showing 12 of 30 Ratings

Five Stars

Posted on December 1st, 2017

Been a patient going on 6 years Dr. Parker has significantly changed my life. Listens to issues at hand..without prejudice. Isn’t flippant in diagnosing.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Good doctor

Posted on May 6th, 2017

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Cold fish

Posted on February 28th, 2016

Follows up after visit? Seriously?? Not unless he can charge extra for that. And his "bedside manner" is similar to that of DMV employee - couldn't care less. Once his paperwork is filled out, off you go. Whether he's helped you is beside the point. He's done enough to charge your insurance company and that's all that seems to matter.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two Stars

Posted on February 25th, 2016

Main receptionist is just plain nasty and has a really horrible attitude. Makes it clear it's a pain in her a** to talk to you. Amazing she's working in this role. Dr. Parker does well at the evaluation but the maintenance appts make it clear he just wants to write the script and push you out the door. In there for 15 minutes, tops, so no time to explore other options or revisit issues. Definitely not the person to see if you have a complex diagnosis or are on multiple medications, because it's clear he has no interest in thinking about the patient again after that first visit. As others have noted, he has a brisk manner and can seem dismissive. At the evaluation he claims he'll work with you to figure out what's best, but that's just not true, and after you're hooked in, over time it becomes very clear he's more interested in seeing the maximum number of patients he can in a single day, rather than doing a careful job with each one.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Horrible!

Posted on January 10th, 2016

Rude, cold, and grossly insensitive. His focus seems to be on paperwork and charging insurance companies as much as possible rather than actually helping patients.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Rude office staff

Posted on December 9th, 2015

Dr. Parker's office staff make it impossible to arrange an appointment and are some of the rudest healthcare personnel that I have ever had to deal with. Despite 3 voice mails, one email and multiple calls I was never able to schedule an appointment. Furthermore, The receptionist Sarah was belligerently rude on the phone bringing me to tears. She didn't like that I couldn't speak fast enough for her and I was hung up on. Not the environment a suicidally depressed patient should be faced with when seeking help.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

I Don't Recommend!

Posted on November 25th, 2015

Controlling and clinical - shows no indication that he even notices/cares about the emotions that are happening right in front of him.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two Stars

Posted on October 21st, 2015

Cold, impersonal, and completing lacking in warmth or empathy. More concerned with forms and paperwork than the person sitting in front of him.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on April 26th, 2015

amazing Doctor!!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr. Joel Parker - Best IME Reports you could ask for!

Posted on January 13th, 2015

Great Doctor! Wrote the agreed upon IME flawlessly. I can highly recommend Dr. Parker to deliver as promised. Bravo Joel, Bravo!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

We all Need Patience (Patients...lol)

Posted on December 12th, 2013

I agree with the other reviewer when they mention that Dr. Parker has a dry wit. I guess in his line of business and after his many years of handling all of our "issues", he would need a sense of humor. I was/am lucky to have him as there are a LOT of Quacks out there. I never needed any help in this area before and was alarmed at how inept (Psycho) a lot of the shrinks can be. Actually, I think that some shrinks should have their license revoked and than placed in a loony bin! I am glad I am in good hands with Dr. J.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Kind, funny, informed

Posted on October 2nd, 2013

I am stunned by some of these other reviews. Dr. Parker has always been compassionate, kind and thorough. He is very well-informed and up to date. I have never felt rushed in a session and I feel that he listens well. He has a dry wit -- I could see others finding it sarcastic, but I think he is really funny. I think a sense of humor is a valuable asset in sometimes difficult situations. I would have no hesitation in recommending him, and have. I have butt heads with his staff some, but not recently.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Joel Parker is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Phoenix, AZ.