ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. John Holtze Is this you?

Filter Reviews

20 Ratings • 7 Comments

3.1
  • 8
  • 1
  • 2
  • 2
  • 7

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
11.7 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Holtze?

Showing 12 of 20 Ratings

Great doctor

Posted on October 5th, 2016

I have had several skin cancers and he has been great at treating these, and removing the ones that needed to be taken off. I am very pleased with him and will continue to see him as long as he maintains his practice.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Highly recommend Dr Holtz!

Posted on November 9th, 2015

Excellent doctor who really is an expert in diagnosing and treating skin problems.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

June 23 2014

Posted on June 24th, 2014

I'm actually in the process of finding a new dermatologist because this man is just plain rude and inconsiderate. My daughter has boric dermatitis so Dr Holtz says and haven't seen him in little over a year now and my daughter needs more medication for her face and I refuse to go back to this man

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Cancel you appointment, go somewhere else

Posted on June 13th, 2014

Great staff, but dangerous doctor. Missed my cancer, wouldn't biopsy at all, refused to because he took an oath he said, to not cause harm. wow. Save your life and go elsewhere. Shouldn't be allowed to practice.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on June 11th, 2014

Horrible experience with this doctor. His staff was very kind and courteous. Dr Holtze on the other hand was not. I have a rare, chronic, progressive disease. One of my other specialists wanted me to see a dermatologist for a skin condition that had suddenly appeared. That specialist told me what he thought it was. When I mentioned this to Dr. Holtze he said no it was not that. It was an allergic reaction. When I asked him if he wanted to know what the 15 different meds I was taking he said no. He prescribed some medicine that I honestly was afraid to use. It did help some places not others. I went to another dermatologist who listened to my symptoms. Who understood how this skin issue was related to my condition. Surprise, it was what the other specialist thought it was. It was not an allergic reaction at all. It was related to one of my medications making me susceptible to this skin condition. I would not recommend this doctor to anyone.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

DO NOT recommend this doctor

Posted on October 21st, 2013

Honestly, Dr.Holtze is the worst doctor I have ever seen. His patient skills, along with social skills, are simply non-existent. During the appointment he was condescending, insensitive, and plain rude. I was very upset about his comments regarding my condition (which is a very sensitive issue to me). I started to tear up and I couldn't really talk. He asked me about a medication refill which I didn't need, so he just walked out of the room without saying anything. The doctor spent less than 5 minutes with me. It was an extremely unpleasant experience and I wish I had listened to the reviews I had read about this doctor online.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Robe, Please

Posted on November 17th, 2010

Dr. Holtze is a friendly, caring physician. My only objection was that the nurse had me strip down to my underwear to wait for the doctor. She didn't even offer me a robe. When the door to the examining room opens, the nursing staff and anyone who happens to be walking by gets a great view of the patient. His examining rooms could use some updating - same pictures on the walls since I've been going there during the last 20 years.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on November 7th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on May 14th, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on May 14th, 2017

Four Stars

Posted on April 18th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on November 12th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. John Holtze is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Des Moines, IA.