The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. John Ironside Is this you?

Filter Reviews

37 Ratings • 10 Comments

3.9
  • 18
  • 6
  • 5
  • 3
  • 5

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
13.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Ironside?

Showing 12 of 37 Ratings

GREAT PERSON. GREAT DOCTOR

Posted on February 20th, 2017

I have read the reviews here and I would like to say, he is very patient, understanding, and overall pleasant. He has listened to what I say and I must say, I am fully impressed. I have not waited more than 5 minutes for an appointment after my arrival. As a matter of fact, today I was 15 minutes early and I went straight back. I am glad he is my neurologist.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Wonderful

Posted on October 20th, 2016

I couldn't have asked for a better doctor. I would recommend him to famply amd friends. Thank you Dr. Ironside

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on July 5th, 2016

Dr Ironside is ALWAYS on time; yet, I have never felt rushed during an appt. He listens to questions and answers those questions without being condescending, which is refreshing. He has been good about discussing with me options for treating a difficult medical condition. He was an effective advocate when (an unaffiliated) hospital about to do an MRI on my brain repeatedly messed up his orders. He is blunt, but that is fine. I appreciate that. I want to be treated like an adult, get the information I need and get out of the doc's office. I do not leave his office confused or with unanswered questions. There is no magic cure for my medical condition. Dr Ironside is quite competently helping me monitor and deal with it, which is what I need and all I really can ask. He is not going to host a pity party for me. I think I would lose it if I ever went into his office and said that my lot in life was sad and he agreed. That's not to say he does not inquire about my "mental state" at my appts. He does regularly ask how I am feeling, because people with my condition do get depressed. I just appreciate the fact that he is not encouraging me to be despondent. He is appropriately humorous and seems not to be easily shocked. Various indignities accompany my condition. A little humor here and there when discussing those indignities is nice. He is a great doc.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on June 28th, 2016

Dr. Ironside was great. He took the time to explain everything to me. I left there feeling like he cared.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on January 14th, 2016

After not hearing from Dr Ironside for several weeks after dad's test I called for results. The nurse was very rude and told me they did not call because the test were normal and the doctor planned to discuss them at dad's three month follow up. I reminded him they did not set dad for a three month follow up. When we finally got back in to see him Dr Ironside "had not seen the results" and ask us what test dad had. He motioned for dad to walk 20 feet down the hall to prove his point that dad "showed no symptoms" even after we repeatedly tried to tell him the balance problems and foot drop are after exertion. He literally waved his hands in the air and said "see, no symptoms. I'll see you back in six months unless you develop new symptoms. At this point I turned to dad and told him "it's ok dad, we don't have to come back here." I let our heart doctor know of the terrible bedside manner and lack of interest, respect and healthcare. He said it was not the first time he'd heard this and promptly get dad set up with another neurologist. Hopefully our new doctor will be interested enough to find out what is happening with dad so he can get back to living the life he deserves. My advice is not to waist your time with this doctor

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

DO NOT SEE THIS DR P PLEASE!

Posted on July 28th, 2014

I have seen this Dr several times and, he has very rude bed side manners and, does NOT listen to your concern and, also cuts you off ALL the time while trying to answer the question he just asked you. I just recently was referred back to this Dr because my problems are coming back very bad this time and, this was the fastest one my Dr could get me into. So, I said, it's been about a year in a half since I've seen him and, maybe he won't be so bad when he sees how bad I've got. The nurse called to make an appointment and, they told her even though I have been there before, it's been awhile and, I have to start all over as a new client and, we will mail her the paper work and, we can make her an appointment for around 6-8 weeks from now. The nurse said please ma'am, she really really needs to be seen ASAP it's very important that she is seen as soon as possible. And, they still would not do I it. So, I waited 7 weeks for my appointment, the Dr came in the room and, he said it's been awhile since you have been here, what's going on? And, as I'm telling him everything that's been going on and, I'm looking for my last MRIs that show CSF and 3 bulging disk in my neck and all of my back problem that another Dr had requested before he moved so I could so him, he said, I don't care about those MRIs from 3 years ago and, I don't think you have MS either. You do show a lot of the signs of it but, you don't have it and, I'm not testing you for it. I said could you please give me an updated neck, back and head MRI? And he said no. I'll do a brain scan, eeg and draw blood and see you in a month. So, my problems have gotten worse, I'm having seizures again but, I have an appointment with another neurologist I used to see and he's very carrying. But, PLEASE DO NOT SEE DR IRONSIDE. HE WILL NOT LISTEN OR HELP AND JUST WANTS MONEY AND IT'S SAID BECAUSE HE JUST WASTED MY TIME AND I'M TRYING TO GET BETTER AND NOT PLAY GAMES.

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

The best explanation I've ever gotten at a doctor's appointment!!!!

Posted on January 23rd, 2012

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

The Worst Doctor ever

Posted on November 6th, 2010

My Father 86 years old and my 83 years old Mother was 10 minutes late and were not allowed to see the Doctor. My Father fought in WWII. He worked his whole life to support his family and man of Honor, Respect and dignity. This Doctor is Arrogant, Pretension Rude man. Enough said. You will get better service from any other doctor

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on February 5th, 2009

Office staff was hard to communicate with. Did not return calls in timely manner or respond to pharmacy for refills. Dr Ironside was great - hopefully his move to LR Diag CLinic will improve staff issues .

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on June 26th, 2008

brings his own patients back from waiting room! on time ...sometimes early! compassionate and caring

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on October 24th, 2017

Two Stars

Posted on September 21st, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. John Ironside is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Little Rock, AR.