ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

John Tompkins Is this you?

Filter Reviews

49 Ratings • 15 Comments

4.1
  • 28
  • 8
  • 7
  • 0
  • 6

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
20 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen John Tompkins?

Showing 12 of 49 Ratings

Best spinal neurosurgeon in the area!

Posted on November 9th, 2017

I might have been paralyzed if not for Dr. Tompkins, after a series of MRI's, I was told I needed emergency surgery. Thank God Dr. Tompkins was the neurosurgeon on call, he and his staff are wonderful and very good at what they do. I have recommended them to others and wouldn't go to anyone else for my degenerative disc disease.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on November 4th, 2016

Dr. Thompkin was extremely knowledgeable he was very confident in being able to correct the issue. For the amount of pain I was in I was not able to get schedule for surgery until two-weeks later. The office staff needs to have customer service training because Terri is extremely ugly to the patients and I am not sure if the doctor is aware of her attitude. Dr. Thompkin's PA made me feel very at ease; I wish that I had that feeling with the doctor, maybe it is that he's got so much on his mind. My husband liked the doctor because of him having 20 years of experiences. I like the fact that he is experience, but I want a doctor that makes me feel that he has compassion and cares also and I did not get that feeling from Dr. Thomkins. I am not seeking a second opinion.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on February 15th, 2016

Dr. Thompkins has always been a very Good Doctor in regards to dealing with my Pain situation.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on December 2nd, 2015

His analysis of the paid after my Spinal Tap was off. Every single person I know who has had the same procedure (5 other people) had a longer recovery period than the 2 days (over a weekend) that I was told was normal.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on January 15th, 2015

This man saved my life! NF Tumors on the nerves that control my heart. He keeps up to date on the latest technology. He got me in for stereo tactic radio therapy when it was brand new technology. Well worth the wait.

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

surgery i had done

Posted on January 7th, 2014

dr tomkins is alright be he liedto me after the surgeries ,he did not tell mei had a tumor in my neck and he did not tell me had nerve damage in my neck and cranium,my pain management dr told me because it showed on my xrays,he is not very truthful man,he told me i could not do eighty of activity.iblame him for lying to me and the other two doctors.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Grateful Patient

Posted on May 15th, 2013

Everyone told me not to expect bedside manner with a neuro-surgeon. They are the very proficient brainiacs that do what they do and leave. Dr. Tompkins is a very proficient brainiac but is also a very sweet and wonderful person. He takes the time you need to understand and even took the time to tell me about one of his favorite Dilbert cartoons. Teamed with P.A. Jeff (sorry Jeff, I don't know your last name) and a great team of assistants, this was one of the best surgical experiences I've ever had. It was supposed to be a crazy, scary, dangerous experience but combined with the confidence they exuded, and instilled in me, it was a breeze. They returned a stumbling, clumsy older lady into the self-sufficient, independent, confident person she used to be. I am grateful I found him and I wouldn't go anyplace else.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Completely satisfied with outcome...

Posted on November 6th, 2012

Had an ACDF procedure due to Spinal Stenosis and Dr. T. performed this in the Summer of 2011; am very pleased 18 months later though still some work to accomplish for "full" recovery. Yes at times it appeared that post-op visits were not as intimate and bedside manners waned but the Dr. idoes'nt have time to spoon feed all of his patients once he's comfortable with the progress. As pointed out by another, the Dr.'s PA is terrific throughout the whole process.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Having operation with Dr. but not thrilled with office staff

Posted on June 19th, 2012

The few office staff I was in contact with did not seem to know what to do-that was scary. Hopefully Iam making the correct choice with the Doctor. He needs to clean house and hire people who truly want to work and seem caring.

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr. T is a doctor because of his love of medicine , not money.

Posted on March 20th, 2012

Dr Tompkins was very up front an honest and explained my condition in a way that was understandable to me and not in the least bit condescending. I have already recommended him to friend's. My father was a doctor as was his father and his father and I have worked in the medical field. There is always going to be someone you can't please, but De. Tompin's passion and genuine care for his patient comes through. His staff was very friendly and professional which is very important as they are the first impression of not only how the office is run, but how the doctor prefers his office be run. He did an excellent job on my procedure and I have complete faith that he will perform just as well on the next. Also, his PA is the bomb!!!

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Good surgeon but...

Posted on September 6th, 2011

I had surgery with Dr. Tompkins last year and while the outcome was ok, I feel that he and his staff could be doing a lot better in terms of patient communication. I felt that once I was operated on I was pretty much on my own. Communication with their office is tedious and to get a return phone call takes a few days on average - not particularly helpful when one just had surgery and needs a question answered. Tompkins himself is more or less aloof and done with the patient as soon as he's gone over the usual spiel. Jeff, his nurse practitioner, is much more approachable and takes more time. But again, all that pretty much ends once the surgery has taken place. Office staff is rude and generally not compassionate to people in severe pain - especially Dora. Ugh. Every time I had to call their office I was glad when I could hang up again. All in all I would not go there again and rather try to find a good surgeon AND good communication.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

The wok of Dr. John Tompkins

Posted on May 26th, 2011

Two years ago, Dr. Tompkins placed a VP-shunt to treat and relieve my hydrocephalus. It was successful. He operated on me earlier this week to relieve my spinal stenosis by means of a cervical laminectomy. It too is successful. He is an excellent neuro-surgeon in my opinions.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    John Tompkins is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Plano, TX.