ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Jonathan Markowitz Is this you?

Filter Reviews

20 Ratings • 8 Comments

3.7
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
  • 5

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
22.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Jonathan Markowitz?

Showing 12 of 20 Ratings

Best Dr I've seen yet

Posted on September 29th, 2016

He was very kind and after visiting several doctors around the east coast, he was the only one able to prescribe what my child actually needed

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Solved our mystery disease

Posted on June 27th, 2012

I have two children and have always had a complex history myself. After three years of being tossed from specialist to specialist, numerous visits out of state to GIs and every test imaginable, we were given the recommendation for Dr. Markowitz by a friend. We consider him our "local" GI even though he is a 2-3 hour drive away. The first time he saw us he spent 2 hours going over every symptom, hospitalization, and procedure my two children had ever had. He told us he thought it was Mitochondrial Disease even though we had been told it had been ruled out already. He sent us to Dr. Shoffner in Atlanta and within several months we had a firm diagnosis of Mitochondrial Disease, that was 2009. He has helped us manage both boys (who have feeding tubes and ports) and he has advocated for our needs even when the recommendations weren't popular among other doctors. I can not tell you how much I thank this man for saving my children's lives - well and mine - because I also have mitochondrial disease. If it weren't for him, our family would have never had the answers we had been seeking for the past 28 plus years - and my kids who were so much more severe than me, well I don't think they'd be alive. I trust him 110% and know that he would never put my children through anything unless it was absolutely what they needed. He takes his time and makes sure that before we cut or do something invasive, we have tried everything we can fist. Also, our motility specialist in Boston agreed with all of his most recent recommendations for my younger son (which included surgery) whereas other GIs disagreed with his decision. It turned out to be the right decision. The motility specialist in Boston is arguably the best motility doctor in the nation. So, I feel comfortable with our decision to maintain our children's care with Dr. Markowitz and would encourage others who have children with multiple system involvement and complex histories to try him.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two Stars

Posted on February 27th, 2012

Dr. Markowitz has been my daughter's doctor since she was 10. We were given a referral to him because of stomach pains she had been experiencing off and on for two years. He simply put her on a muscle relaxer and drew lab work (cbc) and took a stool sample. Nothing came back out of the ordinary. Two months after the initial visit, she had severe stomach cramps and bloody diarrhea. I called the doctor and got another doctor in the practice. He said it was nothing to worry about, it was probably a bacterial infection. I kept an eye on her and called the doctor back on Monday because she was getting much worse. Finally, three weeks later, she is scheduled for a colonoscopy and and EGD. His findings are ulcers in the colon and several stomach ulcers. He diagnosed her with colitis and put her on prednisone. It did not help so I took her to the ER where she was admitted. She was in the hospital off and on (mostly on) for the next 5 months and missed most of her 8th grade year. She had a bladder fistula and had to have emergency surgery in March. Dr. Markowitzs did NOT keep track of her weight loss nor thought to check her vitamin levels. She was severely deficient in iron, vitamin D, calcium, vitamin K, and vitamin B-12 and had to get several infusions. Three years later, we are on maintenance medicine but she continues to have small flare ups every few months in which he dismisses as "normal" and only sees her two times a year. He keeps changing her diagnoses and has not scoped her in three years even though I have requested it (I am a nurse). He seems extremely confused by her case even though it is a seemingly cut and clear case of ulcerative colitis. I will be ready when she turns 18 so she can switch to her grandmother's GI doctor.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on December 13th, 2010

I highly recommend Dr. Markowitz to anyone looking for a specialist in eosinophilic disorders. After traveling for a long time to Cincinnati Children's Hospital's Eosinophilic Disorder Clinic, we decided to travel to see Dr. Markowitz. His wonderful bedside manner and extreme knowledge convinced us to make the change. Although we still live 6 hours away, our son receives very personalized care.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

This is my child

Posted on July 22nd, 2010

I feel as though Dr. Marcowitz listens but does not hear. He is only going to do things one way which is his. I am very disappointed at his ability to look outside the box.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

God Sent In Our Live!

Posted on May 10th, 2010

Dr. Markowitz has been my son doctor since he was born and will continue untill he is an adult. Through all of the trying times when no doctor knew what to do he was the one that got my son on track to a healther "belly." Doc really showed that he cared. Others that I know have the same doc said the same things and they love him.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

NOT WORTH SEEING THIS DR

Posted on April 4th, 2010

My 5 yr old was admitted in GHS childrens hospital for vomiting blood, after 8 grueling hours he comes in and states what he thinks it may be, ok well we wanted to know what it was exactly we asked for test and he stated this was not necessary he was going to try PREVACID and to follow up with him in 2 weeks at his office. this is a 5 yr old with severe stomach pains and a family history of stomach diseases and problems and 2 weeks is way to long to wait just to see if the medicine works we wanted answers and I refuse to follow up with him for the fact he DID NOT SHOW ANY COMPASSION AND NEVER EVEN LOOKED AT MY CHILD OR EVALUATED HER HIMSELF HE ONLY WENT OFF REPORTS OF TEST THAT HAD BEEN DONE DURING THAT DAY. MY DAUGHTER IS ON MEDICAID BUT SHE IS ALSO A CHILD WHO NEEDED HELP ASAP. I HAVE FILED A COMPLAINT WITH GHS AND WILL SEE THAT NO ONE ELSE GETS TREATED THE WAY MY CHILD DID BY HIM AND THE STAFF.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on August 20th, 2008

Dr Markowitz will forever be remembered as an angel on our path. His caring & expertise immensely helped our son with a chronic disease. I would absolutely reccomend him to any parent seeking an outstanding pedicatric GI!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on February 11th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on February 11th, 2017

One Star

Posted on January 11th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on March 10th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Jonathan Markowitz is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Greenville, SC.