The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Jose Ugarte Is this you?

Filter Reviews

16 Ratings • 7 Comments

2.9
  • 6
  • 1
  • 0
  • 2
  • 7

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
45.9 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Jose Ugarte?

Showing 12 of 16 Ratings

One Star

Posted on July 6th, 2016

Worst AME on the face of the planet. Appointments happen 3.5 hours after scheduled time.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Horrible

Posted on January 11th, 2016

My wife went to Ugarte for a possible cold while she was approximately 3 months pregnant. Ugarte denied medical attention for my wife after he found out she was taking medication for her reumathoid arthritis, he told her she was knowingly hurting the baby and was not going to see her. My wife had 5 Internal fetal medicine doctors aside from her obgyn, with experience, who were monitoring her medicine intake!!!! My wife went home crying uncontrollably thinking she was hurting the baby. I immediately called the office and demanded to talk to him, a nurse came back on the line and I explained to her why I needed to talk to him, she puts me on hold and then comes back saying he is doing his rounds and would be unable to talk to me. She continued to try and defend him, saying maybe my wife should go to her doctor. Took her to urgent care were they confirmed what my wife was taking with obgyn and they were able to to prescribe her some medication and got better. Our baby boy is one healthy beautiful boy, Ugarte is a horrible person and would not recommend him.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Horrible

Posted on May 21st, 2012

Had a 2:30 appoitment, didn't see the doctor until after 6 p.m. After I finally saw the doctor, he spent about two minutes with me. The doctor mis diagnosed my issue. I could also tell that the doctor and staff wasn't even listening to what I was trying to say. Trying to get the office staff to complete task, such as referals and follow ups, was like pulling teeth. The office never asked for a follow up for some blood work that was done. Please, please do yourself a favor, go elsewhere.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Gives you his full attention

Posted on September 1st, 2011

Dr. Ugarte is one of the most caring doctors I have ever had.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two Stars

Posted on December 20th, 2010

Dr. Ugarte is a good doctor as far as his skills, compassion, etc. goes. But his office staff, which he seems to change frequently, does not seem to care about making referrals, scheduling appointments, etc. And the waiting for several hours in the office for each appointment means one's whole day is shot, sometimes just for a brief follow-up appt.! As much as I liked him as a man, and as a doctor, the lack of efficiency made it too difficult to get any other medical services. This is why I felt forced to change doctors.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Loooong wait

Posted on December 14th, 2009

The big issue at his office is that you will spend most of the day waiting. Hewill book you ininthe mornin and you may sitt eitherin the witing area or in the room for a long time (Hours!) This have happend to me now 3 times. (do not have a choice)

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two Stars

Posted on February 27th, 2009

This physician used to be very good, but is now moderate to poor. His office staff is rude and appointments are a problem to make. Then, the doctor makes you wait 1 to 2 hours for an appointment. Why make early appointments if he is too lazy to get to the office to see patients. I changed doctors quickly.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on April 29th, 2016

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

One Star

Posted on October 20th, 2015

Five Stars

Posted on September 30th, 2015

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on June 23rd, 2015

Five Stars

Posted on April 28th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Jose Ugarte is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Kingsville, TX.