ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Joseph Marnell Is this you?

Filter Reviews

19 Ratings • 10 Comments

3.3
  • 8
  • 2
  • 2
  • 0
  • 7

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
18.3 min
Appropriate Followup

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Joseph Marnell?

Showing 12 of 19 Ratings

Assistant Professor

Posted on October 8th, 2014

Dr. Marnell is the best doctor I ever had. I saw him for over 20 years. It takes some getting used to his personality but he knows which medicines are best and what life changes need to accompany chemotherapy. He even helped me to transition to Asia at a time that I could not get meds or a doctor here. He will help you if you have a mental illness and are willing to do what it takes to get your life in order. I never could have come as far I did career-wise without his support. I was once $95K in debt and a mess and now I have been teaching at a university in Korea for several years and am saving for retirement. Listen to Dr. Marnell and he will help you go places. I miss him!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

My experience with Dr Marnell

Posted on November 30th, 2010

I saw this doctor in 1985 - at the time I was malnourished and I had obvious symptoms of adrenal insufficiency but this doctor diagnosed me as schizo affective or bipolar. He didn't know me or anything like that. And the diagnosis has been in my medical records ever since and I've suffered extensively. The thing that upset me the most about this doctor is that he promised me that I would be able to keep my job if I went to the hospital but after I got out of the hospital they let me go. He shouldn't make a promise to someone like that unless they can keep the promise. He didn't do a fasting cortisol on me so how did he know I was really bipolar? I know for sure that I had low blood pressure when I was in the hospital and that I had most of the symptoms of adrenal insufficienty and I can prove that I have a family history. This person basically ruined me and put a mark against me that was unjust and undserved.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Best Doctor

Posted on June 6th, 2010

Accomplished and intelligent

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr. Mean

Posted on March 24th, 2010

He is cold, mean and nasty and so is his staff. Find another Dr.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Very upsetting and confusing.

Posted on February 19th, 2010

I have had no response to getting a refill on my medication. It is only Zoloft not a "controlled substance" and it only needs to be faxed in. I have left numerous messages and have been trying to get it refilled for a week. Tonight will be my 3rd day without the medication. I even made sure to make an appointment to see him.It is now Friday and I will probably get a call back until Monday. Very upsetting and confusing.

Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Better than most

Posted on August 19th, 2009

I've stuck with him for five years, which should tell you a lot.He's better than other docs I've seen in that he seems to listen and actually care about your issues. He can seem a bit condescending at times, talking to you almost like you're a child, but overall he's very nice.The staff is courteous and I never have a problem getting an appointment.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Have Had Alot worst

Posted on August 10th, 2009

Dr Marnell has a dry beside manner; but does spend the time to address your problems. You may not want to hear his opinion but, that is why you see him. I have seen others prior to Dr Marnell due to insurance changes. I can say he is bettere than the others.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

"Doctor" Marnell

Posted on February 9th, 2009

"Doctor" Marnell has poor bedside manners.He appears to care more about money than the care/health of his patients. For instance, after and before every visit he directly informs his patients to pay for their "welcoming" visit. In another instance, he charged me for an a appointment that was never scheduled or happened. When confronting his front desk employees about this issue, they were rude and claimed that speaking to Marnell for 20 seconds on the phone regarding the medication counted as an appointment. However, the call was in reference to the bad side effects of the drug that was prescribed to me by him. HE NOT A RECOMMENDABLE PSYCHIATRIST.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Doctor"

Posted on February 3rd, 2009

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Very Good Doctor

Posted on January 14th, 2009

I like Dr. Marnell very much, he listens to what you have to say carefully and doesn't treat his patients in a condescending manner.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on March 7th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on December 12th, 2015

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Joseph Marnell is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Greenbelt, MD.