The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Karen Mead Is this you?

Filter Reviews

15 Ratings • 8 Comments

1.6
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
  • 12

Quality Rating

Dissatisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
44.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Karen Mead?

Showing 12 of 15 Ratings

The worst

Posted on August 23rd, 2016

I agree with the other reviewers. She is a horrible doctor. Heartless. Cold. More interested in trying to get family to allow patient to die than to help patient improve. Our experience was some years ago. Sorry that other people were subjected to her care and lost a loved one as we did. Hope she is retired so she can't harm more people. Assigned to us by head of critical care who was also heartless and incompetent. They should call her Dr. Death.

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

heartless horrible doctor

Posted on July 24th, 2013

our parent was under her care while critically ill and died. she was more interested in trying to convince us to let our parent die than anything else. she was assigned to our parent's care due to her supposed expertise in working with critically ill patients. she was cold, heartless and incompetent. she displayed a horrible bedside manner to our parent and was disrespectful to our ill parent and our family. do not entrust your loved one's care to her. you will be sorry. I was saddened to read that other families had the same experience with her as our family did.

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

She should retire

Posted on August 18th, 2012

She was in charge of my Son's care at MCH and he died under her care. He had poor nursing care as well as he lax attention to my Son when he was very ill and needed help.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on August 10th, 2011

Mead and her staff on the 5th floor at Highland Hospital don't care about their patients. They leave them in bed soiled with themselves..staff is too lazy to change them..its just easier to medicate them to make them sleep..Mead doesn't order the proper test and is too busy to talk to you..Retire Mead..its time!!

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Beware!

Posted on December 31st, 2010

Beware!!!!!

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on October 3rd, 2010

Uncaring, rude doctor with a lack of human touch. Lacks the time to spend with patients and their family members.Dr. Mead...do the Rochester community a great service...RETIRE!

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

The previous review is so inaccurate.

Posted on April 15th, 2010

Dr. Mead is an outstanding physician. She takes care of the sickest and most complicated patients and does so with thorough dedication and professionalism. She has always had nothing but a lovely demeanor with me and I am pleased to have her.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on March 4th, 2010

terrible doctor bedside manner stinks

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on August 7th, 2015

Four Stars

Posted on February 27th, 2015

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

One Star

Posted on February 5th, 2015

Four Stars

Posted on December 10th, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Karen Mead is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Rochester, NY.