The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Kristopher Kallin Is this you?

Filter Reviews

31 Ratings • 12 Comments

3.8
  • 21
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
  • 8

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
27.1 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Kristopher Kallin?

Showing 12 of 31 Ratings

Great Dr

Posted on November 19th, 2017

Dr Kallin is a great Dr he saved my sons life. Very caring and competent. Thank goodness we had him in our time of need.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

God Sent๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ™๐Ÿป

Posted on March 15th, 2017

We will be forever grateful that Dr. Kallin saved our sons life. He is a brilliant surgeon and a wonderful human being. He's done two of our sons surgeries and we are confident knowing now that our son is in gods hands while he is with Dr. Kallin. We thank god everyday for Him and he will never know how much he is appreciated.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Scimitar syndrome fixed in 2016

Posted on December 26th, 2016

Speechless greatful for the opportunity to have my life back and feel full of energy the most scariest procedure I had but my heart beats thank you to a great surgeon dr kallin a man who took my case @ my last few weeks of the craziest year of my life. I just want to say thanks for the chance to feel energized once again if you ever in surf city let me buy you a drink and you can walk down by the high school. Keep up the fantastic work you and your team๐Ÿ˜€

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two Stars

Posted on July 26th, 2016

Love him he save my son's life

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Performed all 3 of my son's surgeries

Posted on August 4th, 2013

Dr. Kallin performed all three of my son's surgeries at CHLA. The first at 5 days old, second at 10 months old, and then again right before he turned 4. In all cases he came through with flying colors. Dr. Kallin was always calm and controlled no matter the situation. He is a very stoic man, but we got him to crack a smile or two along the way. I think his eyes are very telling even though his mouth is not. He gave us clear answers and we always felt we were getting the truth even when we didn't want to hear it. He gave us statistics on himself and reasonable outcomes and all in all we are very pleased with his surgical ability to save our son. We are forever grateful.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Calloused or Careless... doesn't matter

Posted on September 22nd, 2012

Dr. Kallin will put his wallet and reputation above the lives of his patients. He has little experience with severe or complex heart defects. Dr. Kallin will allow your child to die a very slow death, while keeping you utterly uninformed, if he can't do surgery. He will also lie to you about the capabilities of other surgeons, who might be able to help you or your child, in order to save his own reputation.

Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on August 29th, 2012

Dr. Kallin and his colleagues at the Children's Hospital of Los Angeles care more about their personal beliefs, wallets, and reputations than fully informing a parent or patient and honestly describing all available treatment options. Dr. Kallin is calloused towards the death of a child. Hours before the death of my daughter he told my mother-in-law and husband that "he wasn't going to perform the surgery just to appease the parents". He was incapable of helping my daughter and said that nothing could be done. He explained the defect to me like I was an idiot. I was literally passing out because I had been in labor for two days and the cicu nurses didn't think to offer me a chair so I could sit at my daughters bedside while she died. One of Dr. Kallin's colleagues rolled his eyes at me when I requested to have my daughter transfered to Stanford. It took hours of bugging nurses to get a response and we were told "Stanford, Dr. Hanely, couldn't comment on his ability to complete the surgery but that transportation wasn't an option because my daughter wasn't stable enough." When I finally received my daughters medical record it states that "transportation was not an option" but there was no transfer requests on record and no mention of Stanford or Dr. Hanely. They lied to me.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

im sending him home to die

Posted on November 26th, 2011

this dr has no bedside manner.after taking my sons case he two months later said he wasnt going to help him and was sending him home to die without any care....i had security involved twice to keep him out of my sons room..wich he still came into the room again..he was banned from performing any procedures at chla without a doctor from here being involved..he also told us that he didnt take my sons case because he was only 8 years into his career and if it turned out bad it would hurt his career and that the surgeon that took his case was at the end of his career and it wouldnt hurt his career in a bad outcome..my son had procedure to help him and is on the way to a great recovery thanks to childrens hospital and dr starns..from my sons advocate daddy

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr. Kallin Is Wonderful

Posted on August 27th, 2011

Dr. Kallin performed the first of what will be there heart surgeries for our newborn daughter. I recommend him to the fullest extent and cannot thank him enough for essentially saving her life.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Atrial Septal Defect Closure

Posted on May 25th, 2011

Just amazing amazing amazing! Very knowledgeable and spends great amount of time with his patients and very thorough and in detail about everything. Staff and ICU is truly amazing. Was really nervous about my surgery. Recovery was very fast, easy and was able to shrink my incision more than I expected. I definitely would recommend him :))

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Arterial Switch Operation

Posted on August 5th, 2009

I might have gave my daughter life but because of Dr. Kallin now she can live it!!!! I Thank you for giving my daughter a second chance. I would recommend him in a HEART BEAT!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on February 8th, 2009

Dr. Kallin repaired my baby's Tetralogy of Fallot in 2008. The surgery outcome was very good. My baby is thriving now!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Kristopher Kallin is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Los Angeles, CA.