The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Lewis Winkler Is this you?

Filter Reviews

12 Ratings • 5 Comments

2.7
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
  • 1
  • 6

Quality Rating

Neutral

Wait Time
7.5 min
Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Lewis Winkler?

Showing 12 of 12 Ratings

why make me join a group for therapy?

Posted on October 27th, 2015

I needed professional help. After a couple of sessions he suggested group therapy - the group was full of people with very different life experiences and issues - I hd to hear about their divorces, plans, job worries etc. - it did absolutely nothing for me. My guess is it brings in more money then single sessions for him. I would NOT recommend for anyone needing any therapy at all.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Irresponsible. Arrogant. Destructive

Posted on June 6th, 2013

Saw lewis winkler as a reference at a low point and great need in my life. He proceeded to cite clinical statistics to predict i would get much worse psychologically. He was cold and arrogant offering no support in any way--perhaps because he knew i was not return business for him. Just a one-time reference. Revealed his true character Since then i have come to hear that many dont return to him for similar reasons. The worst physician related experience ever And, he was also proved wrong as well. Stay away

Wait time
5 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on December 7th, 2011

I saw Winkler a month ago, booked an appointment on ZocDoc.com. I received a call from him later that day saying he doesn't pay attention to the site and would need to meet with me another day. Why he is still on the site, I don't even know. Anyway, we rescheduled.I went in and sat in a waiting room for about 15 minutes. I didn't know where his office was located in the suite or if he had even remembered out appointment. Finally, he came down and asked that I fill out forms for a few minutes before we began talking.After 5 minutes of speaking with him, he made a vague diagnosis, instructed me to stop the antidepressant I was on (Effexor) without any plan for withdrawal, and that I was wasting my time if I was trying to get anything other than weekly psychotherapy. He said we would have to do a few sessions before he would put me on anything else (meanwhile, I would be withdrawing unaided from one of the worst antidepressants to go off). I explained to him that I don't make much at my job--I could not pay full price, and that none of the doctors in the area who accepted my insurance were taking new patients. He then asked me how I had found him, and chalked my looking up psychiatrists online as a "manic episode." Throughout the visit, he fell asleep a few times--in a 5 minute long conversation! How is that even possible?Anyway, he sent me off after those 5 minutes and told me to call if I wanted to come back for group therapy. It was a total waste of my time and I felt pretty terrible afterwards. I had forgotten about that awful experience until I got home from work today and found a bill for almost $300. Unbelievable.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on January 24th, 2009

Dr Winkler spoke to me at length on the telephone before our first session and was warm and useful in resolving the crisis,,, We have gone on to doing ongoing therapy which has been a very healing and growth-promoting experience,

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on January 2nd, 2009

comprehensive thorough professional warm and engaging

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on July 26th, 2015

One Star

Posted on April 30th, 2015

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Four Stars

Posted on December 23rd, 2014

One Star

Posted on October 12th, 2014

Five Stars

Posted on February 16th, 2011

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

One Star

Posted on April 2nd, 2010

Two Stars

Posted on December 31st, 2008

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Lewis Winkler is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Washington, DC.