ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Maria Chen Is this you?

Filter Reviews

10 Ratings • 5 Comments

2.5
  • 2
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
  • 5

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
44 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Maria Chen?

Showing 10 of 10 Ratings

dissappointed and lost trust

Posted on June 9th, 2015

I had read a review, where a father was complaining about how his input meaned nothing to Dr. Chen and it was only the mother she was interested in. Well after 4 years of seeing her, I now understand. I'm currently separated from my wife and we are sharing custody. My son began to feel ill, so I took him in to see. I felt that the issue was more then was diagnosed. Sure enough my wife takes him in the following week and was told by Dr. Chen that I did not provide her with the correct information to make the proper diagnoses. Now my wife and my be separated and we have issues that don't involve the children, so as far as that goes we are getting along fine and on the same page. Dr. Chen lied to my wife, I described it perfectly the same as mom did. My wife wants to continue there, because she's writing it off as a misunderstanding. After other reviews that I've read, I don't think it is.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Spare yourself

Posted on July 23rd, 2013

Chen is very condescending and distant. She never calls the parent by name, refers to the adults as mom or dad. In fact, the entire office practices this very unprofessional habit. She isn't patient, and doesn't handle when the parents area as educated as she is. It takes months to schedule an appointment if your child is well. She never folows up. Spare yourself the agony and find another office for your children.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dad is a parent too

Posted on July 10th, 2013

I feel Dr. Chen treats me (Dad) differently than my wife (mom). I feel that I am not taken as serious as mom and feel like she talks down to me, like I'm beneath her. She miss diagnosed my son when I took him in without the wife. The issue worsened and wasn't diagnosed correctly until we went back almost a week later. Dr. Chen said I had not told her the correct symptoms. I asked to see the chart from last visit and she couldn't or wouldn't show it to us. I can tell you I explained the situation just as my wife had, We love CHKD, but we will no longer be seeing Dr. Chen.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr. Chen is the best!

Posted on February 19th, 2013

One thing we love about Dr. Chen is the fact that she has a very calming personality. She is very respectful of the feelings of both the parents and her patients. My kids have been seeing her for over 13 years and we would not change pediatricians for the world.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Watch your back

Posted on June 13th, 2012

Amazing anything like this could even happen now a days. Dr. Chen engaged in a secret medical trial behind the back of a father that had legal medical rights to make decisions in a child's health care. She made a diagnosis with out having all the facts in the case. This went on for 7 months with mom. As you may tell we are divorced and she took the side of mom over any thoughts of dad. And continue a treatment that benefits mom and not benefiting the child

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on January 30th, 2017

Two Stars

Posted on June 24th, 2016

One Star

Posted on May 3rd, 2016

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

Four Stars

Posted on June 1st, 2014

Five Stars

Posted on June 13th, 2011

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Maria Chen is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Newport News, VA.