The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Mark Beckner Is this you?

Filter Reviews

41 Ratings • 11 Comments

3.1
  • 14
  • 4
  • 5
  • 4
  • 14

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
24.2 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Mark Beckner?

Showing 12 of 41 Ratings

Great, unless you're a workman's comp patient.

Posted on January 9th, 2017

If you are workman's comp, he will flip flop depending on his mood as to the care you get. Then he will try to get you dismissed and screwed. Don't let him touch you in surgery.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on January 25th, 2016

Excellent surgeon!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on September 11th, 2015

The most arrogant physician I've ever gone to. He could care less about your well being especially if you are a workers comp case. He would rather make sure he's on the good side of the insurance company than giving you an accurate diagnosis.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Contradictory reviews

Posted on September 3rd, 2015

The reviews are so contradictory it leaves one wondering. Does he have good days, bad days, overbooked schedules? If we encounter the same negative side some have reported, we are better prepared to get his attention, not let him rush us, go over the details, and get the medical attention we expect. We are better aware we may have to handle him and not let him handle us. We had to give a rating in order to submit our comments, thus only 3 stars, until we have been seen and can comment further.

Wait time
10 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Rude, doesn't listen & full of himself

Posted on July 22nd, 2015

I was referred to this doctor to check on a cervical spine issue and I was treated like a dog. Once I finally got to see Beckner after waiting on that stinky waiting room (smelled like dirty feet and looked old and dirty) of Jewett Orthopaedic in Winter Park, FL, the doctor came in very fast, did not listen what I was trying to describe, walked away in the middle of our conversation to look for my MRI that he did not have (apparently CDI didn't forward to him). He comes back with a copy of my diagnosis still doesn't listen, talked about the surgery for replacing my disc with a metal one through my neck as if it was a normal thing like going to the park. What most bothered me besides the rudeness was that he didn't take the time to listen or to explain, not even a little about my condition. Did not show images or my MRI and didn't seem he wanted to talk about other alternatives. Surgery was the first thing he brought up. Yes, he is a surgeon but I believe he should have been more humane. I don't see surgery as he sees and I also believe on the risks involved. I do not recommend this doctor if the human factor is one of your requirements.

Wait time
30 minutes
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Glad I Found This Orthopedic Surgeon

Posted on July 2nd, 2015

After living with chronic back pain for a few years, I went to Dr. Beckner for a second opinion. During my visit I asked many questions, and he was in absolutely no hurry. He listened well, and after a brief examination of reflexes and strength in leg, he ordered a new MRI. When I returned to learn the results, he showed me my MRI on the computer and assured me that, although I have some minor spinal problems, surgery would not help me. He explained further that he only does surgery on patients that he knows will have an excellent chance of improvement of pain. As a patient, I know that there are some doctors out there who will do surgery on anyone with a spinal complaint. Back surgery can leave a person with worse pain from scarring or further nerve damage. I'm grateful I found Dr. Beckner. He had a great bedside manner, didn't rush me on either of my visits, and fully explained the MRI findings and answered all of my questions. Unfortunately, not all back pain means that back surgery will help.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Didnt fix problem, horrible bedside manner, staff terrible

Posted on May 15th, 2015

After my surgery i am experiencing even more pain than before. He keeps saying he doesnt know why and orders new imaging. His staff generally have displayed a negative attitude to me when trying to get in as soon as possible. The imaging center he referred me to refused to give me a cooy of my scans, and told me i was unable to use his order to go anywhere else. His staff often misses followup details after the visit like new appt scheduling and notes for work. Not impressed. As soon as i can, i will be leaving his care.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Successful procedure!

Posted on September 9th, 2014

I'm very grateful to Dr. Beckner for an accurate diagnosis, a successful surgical procedure and giving me sound advice. I had awful back and leg pain -- and I needed to use a walker to avoid falling because of muscle spasms. Thanks to surgical procedure, I had immediate relief from the pain. And with physical therapy, I was able to resume regular activities (without a walker) after six weeks. I couldn't ask for more in terms of a successful outcome.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on July 26th, 2013

I found him to be very down to earth, I appreciate the fact that he didn't promise anything, as nothing is promised. I have had cervical fusions from him, scarring is not bad, have great mobility...love the fact that he explains whats going on and will share mri/xrays as well...would def. recommend.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Do not know why the surgery did not work

Posted on January 14th, 2011

Those were his exact comments. You expect to get better or stay the same, not to get worse.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on September 23rd, 2009

I waited about two hours to be seen. The doctor was full of himself and didn't seem to care when I explained my concerns on what was going on with my back. He only cared about what he had to say. I am definitely getting a second opinion. I was very disappointed.

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on March 28th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Mark Beckner is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Orlando, FL.