The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Mark Carlson Is this you?

Filter Reviews

25 Ratings • 8 Comments

3.8
  • 15
  • 2
  • 1
  • 1
  • 6

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
22.5 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Mark Carlson?

Showing 12 of 25 Ratings

Four Stars

Posted on March 30th, 2017

Very skilled and takes time to explain.6

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Knee Plugs and Donor Cartilage

Posted on September 4th, 2016

I went to see DR.Carlson with minor knee pain. I was surprised to hear him say I needed surgery. He said I had two choices total knee replacement or plugs with Donor cartilage I chose what I thought would be the least invasive ..the plugs. He said I had to do it by 55 or my insurance wouldn't cover it.it was Oct. I turned 55 in June. Two surgeries turned into five. When I had problems and called him he was rude told me never call him in the middle of the night again it was 10:30 I was in horrible pain. When I went to emergency for infection he said it couldn't be infected....He used vanco. Totally untrue. I kept telling him about horrible pain he said everyone heals different give it more time id be fine. He had to do a fifth surgery six months after for particles floating in my knee. But I had to wait a month cause he took off to go fishing. I am now crippled I can't walk much distance at all. Every step is filled with sharp stabbing pain. He says we can do total knee replacement now. I have been to two other surgeons who say they don't do plug surgery because it doesn't work. I have found another surgeon . I will never let Dr Carlson touch me again. He's lied to me for months then tells me it failed because I got arthritis why did he operate in the first place I had holes in my cartilage because of arthritis.Don't trust him.. it's all about the money to him......at least this is my opinion.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on September 23rd, 2014

Great doctor. Friendly staff. My daughter loves it there. Had therapy and mri and the girls there made it fun instead of scary. Will go back again for sure.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Mr

Posted on January 17th, 2014

horrible experience work had to be redone was lied to and told was complete success do not use this guy

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

knee replacement and other

Posted on March 26th, 2013

I have been going to DR.Carlson for several years fro shots in fingers to total knee replacement, I am so happy that he has the wonderful skills to take care of worn out joints that should it happen to have to have another replacement or injections into my fingers or other parts of my body he is the only one I will have preform it as long as he is still around also he is very good at explaining the problems that I had

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

He is the best!

Posted on November 20th, 2012

Dr. Carlson is a wonderful surgeon. He definitely knows what he is doing. I had such good luck with my knee replacement that I am going back after Thanksgiving to get the other knee done. I would highly recommend him to anyone in need.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Miracle worker

Posted on May 11th, 2009

My husband was in a terrible car accident and his leg was literally shattered. Dr. Carlson spent 9 hours in surgery putting his leg back together, and now my husband doesn't even have a limp. That was 20 years ago. Since then we've used Dr.Carlson for my sons athletic injuries and a broken ankle, and can't say enough for how good he is.HIGHLY REOMMENDED

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

labrum repair

Posted on October 11th, 2008

Dr.Carlson has a very good bedside manner and was very informative of the procedure he was about to perform on me and his office staff are very friendly!!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on February 16th, 2017

One Star

Posted on October 22nd, 2016

One Star

Posted on October 19th, 2016

One Star

Posted on June 27th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Mark Carlson is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Rockford, IL.