ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Mark Gurtovy Is this you?

Filter Reviews

40 Ratings • 7 Comments

3.4
  • 15
  • 1
  • 11
  • 4
  • 9

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
52.4 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Mark Gurtovy?

Showing 12 of 40 Ratings

One Star

Posted on December 29th, 2015

I don't know how he has been practicing for so long, and allowed to prescribe medication. Truly saddened real care and concern can't be given to patients with serious mental problems.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on January 16th, 2015

A very good doctor, but the waiting time is ridiculous

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great doctor, poor time management

Posted on November 11th, 2011

Dr Gurtovy is very courteous, does not 'over prescribe' like many psychiatrists do. He accepts all insurance, and as a psychiatrist gets all the impatient mentally ill Medicaid types, who will probably bash his time management and skills since they are ill. He is very thorough, great bedside manner, but does overbook-or rather spends too much time with patients for the 50 bucks insurance companies pay him. Those reviews clearly come from the uninformed and not well. Lovely man with a sweet sense of humor.

Wait time
50.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Does NOT know how to keep an appointment

Posted on October 12th, 2011

I went to Dr. Gurtovy regularly for nearly a year and each time I had to wait at least one hour to be seen. The visits with the doctor were all less than 10 minutes each. There was no attempt by the doctor to discuss my treatment or how things were progressing. I told him the medication that I wanted and he gave me a prescription for it. This is not how a psychiatrist should work. There was a complete disrespect of my time in this office. I complained to the receptionist who said that there was nothing that she can do to keep the appointments on schedule. Only go here if you have a LOT of time to waste and don't mind seeing a doctor who won't take the time to give you a full visit.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Nasty man, long waits, as far as docs go, DEFINITELY not the brightest

Posted on September 14th, 2011

A very nasty man and as far as physicians go, definitely not the smartest. Clueless on drug interaction. Highly afraid of being sued. Tries to give everyone the same medication, wonder how much the drug company is paying him? It would be unbearable going there if it wasn't for his lovely staff. I curse this guy in Russian every time I leave. He does not like fat people, he is impatient, he bills a lot of money for reports that other doctors do for free. But sometimes there is an advantage to going to an idiot. They're easy to persuade if you need to persuade them of something. Humorless man who keeps you waiting a long time.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Long wait

Posted on July 25th, 2011

He's is horrible with time management. He overbooks, setting up 15 minute appointments one on top the other. He is always running behind. I even made sure a few times to make myself his 1st appointment. But even on those occasions he came in 45 - 60 minutes late!!! He takes other phone calls during my session right in front of me and lets himself be interrupted by his office staff. I am going to find a different doctor.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Awful

Posted on July 27th, 2010

Dr, Gurtovy makes you wait over an hour for every appointment! When I once confronted him about this he simply smiled and ignored me. He spends barely 15 mins. with you while looking at your chart and checking off stuff. He even answered his cell phone during an appointment! I stopped seeing him, since he only gives you enough meds. for 1 month and doesn't refill over the phone, so you're forced to come in and waste an hour of your day - don't go to this guy.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on May 2nd, 2017

Four Stars

Posted on January 2nd, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on November 22nd, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on November 22nd, 2016

One Star

Posted on November 22nd, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Mark Gurtovy is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Forest Hills, NY.