The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Max Shapiro Is this you?

Filter Reviews

10 Ratings • 5 Comments

2.6
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 6

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
18 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Max Shapiro?

Showing 10 of 10 Ratings

Questionable Prescription Practices

Posted on October 17th, 2016

He's very awkward first of all, which I can deal with. But he was about to prescribe me a life altering blood pressure medication for the rest of my life without trying any other alternatives like diet and losing weight. And I was two points over the normal range. This prescription has bothered me so much so that I decided to see a cardiologist who called the diagnosis "preposterous." I don't know why he is so obstinate in his ways but I'm glad I don't have to see him anymore. At least for blood pressure, get a second opinion.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Change PCP

Posted on March 5th, 2015

He's awkward and not personable at all. He didn't explain thoroughly explain a procedure I was having done and seemed single-minded in medication versus lifestyle changes. One of the worst doctor experiences I've had.

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

AVOID

Posted on January 16th, 2015

The entire staff is completely incompetent.

Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Ms. Dee C.

Posted on November 8th, 2011

Dr. Max Shapiro has been my primary care physician for 23 years and he's a blessing in my life. He does speak very quickly and at times may be difficult to understand. Over the years I've gotten accustomed to it, but I do count him as among the 2 or 3 best things about my HMO.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Either Dr Shapiro has too many patients or he simply doesn't care

Posted on October 25th, 2011

When sick I found he is very difficult to reach. Doesn't return phone calls or has his nurse call several days later. Also, I am a confident person, but felt uneasy with Dr Shapiro during the physical. Strikes me as a wierd person. Anyway: I recommend finding another Dr.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on January 5th, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

One Star

Posted on August 15th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on January 22nd, 2015

Five Stars

Posted on May 10th, 2011

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

One Star

Posted on August 31st, 2010

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Max Shapiro is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Hawthorne, CA.