The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Melissa Katz Is this you?

Filter Reviews

21 Ratings • 8 Comments

3.9
  • 12
  • 3
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
16.7 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Melissa Katz?

Showing 12 of 21 Ratings

Good diagnosis

Posted on October 18th, 2016

After 24 years with symptoms seeing specialist she found put what I have after 2 appointments Thank you! I m healthy again she gave me a second life!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on August 16th, 2016

great doctor. Been seeing her for over 14 years/.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on February 4th, 2016

I never had such horrid experience at a Dr's. office as at Dr. Katz's. First I waited at the reception desk so I got to Dr. M. Katz's room 5 minutes late. She greeted me with a scornful comment for being late and yelled as if I was a schoolchild (am 70 yrs. old). She told me to find a doctor local to my home if I can't come to NYC on time .I kept quiet as Dr. Katz quickly glanced through numerous pages of my medical history and previous treatments for diabetes.She mumbled 'insulin' numerous times. My diabetes was treated by medicine and I saw Dr. Katz for another opinion as to my medical care since she had been recommended as an expert. She did not allow me to open my mouth for an explanation regarding her decision to put me on insulin. Dr. Katz was only interested in my return to the office for an insulin kit. My wife and I left the office stunned by her rude treatment. It is a year later and my A1C is 5.9 with medicine which another doctor prescribed.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on July 29th, 2015

She was rude and very negative about my decision to have a baby late in life. I had gestational diabetes and she actually yelled at me on the phone when I called concerned about my high blood sugar levels. She was terrible with scheduling me on a regular basis to keep up with my changing thyroid levels during my pregnancy. She was rude and shouted at me again when I asked her to write down a sample diet for me until I could get in to see her nutritionist. "You wan't me to tell you what to eat!!!". Yes, I needed her help. Uh, you are the doctor and I just found out I have gestational diabetes. She was overall just very negative during all my visits with her. I felt stupid and not at all comfortable asking her questions. She made me feel nervous and worried about being pregnant in my early 40s. Thankfully she dropped my insurance and I was forced to find another doctor in the middle of my pregnancy. That was the best thing that could have happened. I did find another doctor and the experience was night and day. He took the time to work with me on my diet. He was positive and delighted for me that I was pregnant. He wanted to see photos of my baby when she was born. He never thought any questions were silly or stupid. He encouraged all questions and applauded me for taking charge of my health. I do not think Dr. Katz was professional or even liked being a doctor honestly.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

RECOMMEND DR. KATZ

Posted on June 24th, 2010

I WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND HER. SPENDS TIME WITH PATIENT. AND LISTENS CAREFULLY TO HISTORY. SHE IS VERY PATIENT ORIENTED AND GOOD AT DETAIL. VERY PLEASANT.I FELT SHE REALLY UNDERSTOOD MY PROBLEMS AND WAS ADDRESSING THEM.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on December 14th, 2009

Dr Katz is great but i always have to wait and the staff never tells you when you arrive.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two Stars

Posted on November 7th, 2009

probably competent poor bedside manner

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Very thorough and caring endocrinologist

Posted on May 12th, 2008

I am always impressed by how much time Dr. Katz spends with me during my semi-annual visits with her. Although she sees me for my thyroid problem, she asks me more questions about my general health and well being than my internist. She always calls right away with lab results. She is great and I recommend her highly.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on May 7th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on May 7th, 2017

Two Stars

Posted on April 28th, 2017

Three Stars

Posted on April 28th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Melissa Katz is similar to the following 3 Doctors near New York, NY.