The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Michael Amster Is this you?

Filter Reviews

15 Ratings • 6 Comments

3.3
  • 6
  • 1
  • 3
  • 0
  • 5

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Wait Time
25.7 min
Friendly Staff
Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Michael Amster?

Showing 12 of 15 Ratings

Five Stars

Posted on December 16th, 2014

Dr. Amster is amazing. He has taken such great care of my husband. Thank you.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

BEWARE!

Posted on January 26th, 2013

I waited 16 weeeks to see Dr. Amster in Jan. of 2009. He spent 5 (FIVE) minutes with me at my first appointment even walking out the door while still talking saying he was "behind schedule". I was upset but decided to give him another chance. At my second visit he didn't seem to care that I didn't want heavy pain medication even though I told him about my friend who'd become dependant on pain meds.He prescibed medicine before ordering tests to determine if I even needed them treating me like a human guinea pig! If I was in alot of pain at my appointments he would say things like "you seem more depressed than in pain" or " your outlook effects pain levels", with an attitude of superiority, almost God-like view of himself . I knew I needed to find a new doctor the day he came into the exam room and began talking about how badly he needed a massage and how great his new girfriend's massages were, I'll never forget that appt. because it was the only time he smiled. At my last visit he had the audacity to embarass me walking into the room saying loudly "your perfume is so strong I can't even come into the room, you need to wash it off and never wear it again to my office" I was so shocked by his rude behavior that I couldn't hold back my tears, He walked away mumbling something like "I can't handle this today". His MA, Rose tried to apologize for his behavior and console me and I think highly of her. I also agree completely with the reviewer that praised Tamara Lee, she is a warm, caring, wonderful provider that I couldn't say enough good things about. She also connected me with a few alternative medicine practicioners that have helped me as well. As for Dr. Amster...BEWARE!

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

sometimes there is a wait to see Dr. Amster but its worth it

Posted on July 29th, 2012

He's a great Dr. and love his staff....wouldn't trade 'em for the world

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

NOT Recommended

Posted on March 3rd, 2012

Low empathy; Too busy; Quantity vs. quality; Incompetent assistance; Defines your "condition" to meet Big Pharma solutions. This jerk actually took a cell phone call in mid sentence while dicussing my very serious condition, while his "assistant" was still making excuses about them "not being too busy." They prescribed a medication that began a serious life threatening side effect.

Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Compassionate Doctor

Posted on September 24th, 2010

You will not find a more caring pain doctor in Solano County. He listens and gives you the time you need to get all of your questions answered. He is not afraid to order test when needed, while not ordering test for no reason.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

First impressions aren't always right..

Posted on February 25th, 2010

I saw Dr. Amster for the first time and I SWORE I would never see him again. I've been a chronic pain sufferer longer than he's been a doctor, and he was soooo condescending I wanted to kick him! He even said, "I think this is psychological, so I am sending you to see our psych nurse." That was the BEST thing he could have EVER done for me. Tamara Manzagar-Lee is his psychopharmacologist, and OMG.. she's amazing. She took two visits to figure out what years of drs had failed to figure out. Then, after four months with her, I had to see Dr. Amster again, and this time, he was.. amazing. I mean really amazing. I'm glad first impressions aren't always right, and since Tamara asked me to give him another chance, and she'd earned my trust (And lifelong loyalty), I'm glad I listened to her. Because of my unique medication needs, it will always be a matter of tweeking the meds, but I'm glad to know there is someone there that will let me know why, how and answer ANY question I have... grateful just doesn't say enough.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Three Stars

Posted on October 17th, 2016

One Star

Posted on September 25th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on July 15th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on January 5th, 2016

Four Stars

Posted on July 7th, 2015

One Star

Posted on March 16th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Michael Amster is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Fairfield, CA.