The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Michael Hocko Is this you?

Filter Reviews

18 Ratings • 8 Comments

2.7
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
  • 1
  • 9

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
53.7 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Michael Hocko?

Showing 12 of 18 Ratings

The absolute worst

Posted on November 4th, 2015

This person, Michael Hocko, is an embarrassment to the medical profession. He is cruel beyond measure and is derelict in his duties as a physician. He has no business training future physicians, except to demonstrate what NOT to ever do as a physician. He lacks compassion, is incapable of answering questions without injecting his brand of disgusting and inappropriate sarcasm, he talks in circles and says absolutely nothing. He speaks cruelly about the patients within earshot of them. He degrades family members and openly mocks their questions. It is mind-boggling that he is allowed to "treat" people at Sisters Hospital. His privileges should be revoked immediately.

Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Very Disappointed with Dr. Hocko's Bedside Manner

Posted on December 18th, 2014

I was hospitalized and Dr. Hocko was just assigned to my case. I did not pick him. I was very disappointed with his bedside manner. My wife totally agrees with me on this. In my opinion, he was an absolutely horrible doctor and represented everything you would not want in a doctor. I just hope he isn't passing any of his behaviors onto residents and medical students. I found him to be rude and totally unable or unwilling to explain things to me. He doesn't have a whole lot of "people skills". Maybe he should be confined to a laboratory where he doesn't have to interact with patients. It was reported to me that he is a very smart individual, however he has no bedside manners whatsoever. My advice would be to select a doctor you can talk to and who is willing to talk with you. I subsequently worked with another doctor who was absolutely wonderful.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on December 3rd, 2014

I have never met a more caring doctor . I had a raging infection , he saved my life. I had a double mastectomy, he was so caring and wonderful . I did not mind waiting extra time i. The waiting room because once you are with the doctor he does not rush you. He answers all your questions. Also, if you gave a question or a problem and you call the doctor, you get hi. On the phone and not so e a sewing service. Thank you for being a compassionate and caring doctor.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Mrs.

Posted on July 17th, 2014

I agree with all of the negative reviews. I WAS a patient of Dr Hocko's. His staff is VERY RUDE, his office is dirty, and he's not a very good dr. I would never, ever, go back!!!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Rude Staff!!

Posted on August 25th, 2013

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

One Star

Posted on July 2nd, 2012

Very rude no compassion what so ever no bed side manner or manners period. He is not caring or compassionate towards his patients he is not considerate towards a patients opinions or concerns. Sisters is one of the best hospitals in buffalo and to have a dr. Like him work for him will bring the hospital and reputation down he needs to be fired and attention if dr.hocko personality should be brought to the attention of the admins. Of sisters hosp. He does not deserve to help people.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

cruel unsympathic jerk

Posted on May 23rd, 2010

Mhy 79 year old mother was misdagnosed for months and given may needless antibiotics-resulting in an incurable infection. When Dr. Hocko gave her the news-he just started ranting that he has it just as bad-three teenagers to raise. He made her feel so bad she will never go to him again. A man who feels good and has a good job telling someone who will suffer until death that the two situations are comparable-what a cruel jerk.

Bedside Manner
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

OUTRAGED!

Posted on October 31st, 2008

After finally getting an appointment (he is only in the office on Fridays) after my hospital stay I entered into a dirty and every unfriendly office. I had to find the receptionist behind a door....no window? she was rude and not at all helpful. When dealing with sick people under stress compassion or even a smile helps. I waited for over two hours in a cramped, crowded and dirty office. I asked about how long of a wait concerned with the over crowded waiting area. I was told about an hour at 2 hours I checked in again. Alarmed! I promised my two young boys I would be at their school parade. The rude woman ....nurse? receptionist ? witch? (It was halloween day )was of no help and I was told it would be at least another half hour if not more! I could not wait any longer that would be over three hours not counting drive time!and still no gaurantee?!I asked to speak with the MD she would not allow me to. I did finally leaver him a note with my disgust and outrage telling him I would be going elsewhere, I was very frustrated and upset and would be leaving this review. SO.....AFTER ALMOST THREE HOURS IN THE DIRTY AND CRAMPED WAITING ROOM WITH THE RUDE RECEPTIONIST I HAD TO LEAVE! I DON'T FEEL WELL, TOOK TIME OFF WORK AND I AM NOW LOOKING FOR ANOTHER MD! IN THIS DAY AND AGE NO PERSON SHOULD WAIT FOR THREE HOURS++ IN A WAITING ROOM UNDER THE CONDITIONS THAT I DID! DO NOT GO TO THIS MD/OFFICE! Demand respect and best of luck!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on July 13th, 2017

Three Stars

Posted on June 15th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on April 13th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on April 12th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Michael Hocko is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Buffalo, NY.