ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Michael Knable Is this you?

Filter Reviews

17 Ratings • 7 Comments

2.8
  • 5
  • 2
  • 1
  • 1
  • 8

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
6.4 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Michael Knable?

Showing 12 of 17 Ratings

One Star

Posted on April 8th, 2014

There is no reason to recommend this man to any patient. He exhibits a supreme lack of patient compassion and has no communication skills. He is unprofessional, has no empathy and provides little medical assistance other writing scripts and medicating.his billing staff is incompetent as well. Luckily he is leaving his practice so while this rating may be unnecessary, my loved one's needs were so blatantly ignored it must be noted.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

care of my daughter with bipolar disorder

Posted on June 12th, 2013

He has great credentials as he specializes in mood disorders and is board certified in neurology and psychiatry. He is very uncaring and seeming uninterested in family input. He insisted we have our family member receive a psychological evaluation by his psychologist even though we provided him one from our daughter's psychologist. We had to pay him just under $3000 for this evaluation. We learned nothing new from it and it did not result in any change to her care. Dr. Knable's bedside manner was such that he seemed to not care at all the travails our daughter was going through. Regarding the several thousand dollars we paid him for the redundant psychological evaluation, I attribute this to his taking advantage of us during our vulnerable time of desperately wanting to get care for our daughter. After all is said and done, she is neither doing better nor worse than when he first assumed her care. We have since changed psychiatrists.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on April 16th, 2013

I'm a (now) highly functional bipolar person that has a career /raises a family and was under the care of a well-regarded (and very expensive) psychiatrist prior to Dr. Knable. We sure talked a lot but the medications were not tweaked to my satisfaction and I finally switched after some years. I am very pleased with the stability I have achieved with the pharmacological changes proposed by Dr. Knable, who I have seen for several years. He's not there to be my best friend or a "yes man." I appreciate his honesty and directness. The truth about oneself can sting a bit, but can also lead to an improvement not just in one's psychiatric health, but one's character.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Uncaring

Posted on February 8th, 2013

He was very cold - completely lacking in compassion and empathy. I felt like I was bothering him (even though I was paying his hefty fee)! Did not prescribe appropriate medications. Pushed expensive "TMS" therapy.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on December 24th, 2010

Dr. Knable is a capable psychopharmacologist. Despite his considerable experience, though, he seems to have a very limited capacity to feel or to express empathy. For those who are looking for warmth, compassion, and a deep understanding of the human psyche in all of its complexities, they might wish to go elsewhere.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Very effective psychiatrist

Posted on October 27th, 2010

Dr. Knable, rather than focusing on the immediate situation only, as many do, takes the longer view. He really cares about the patient and thinks through to a path enabling recovery. Really amazing therapist .

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Wonderful clinician

Posted on September 8th, 2010

Dr. Knable is a very honest, intelligent psychiatrist who is more than qualified to help patients. I feel his doctor-patient demeanor is wonderful, making it very easy to communicate with him and understand him.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on April 17th, 2017

Four Stars

Posted on January 12th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on October 14th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on May 6th, 2015

One Star

Posted on January 17th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Michael Knable is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Frederick, MD.