ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Michael Kogan Is this you?

Filter Reviews

17 Ratings • 8 Comments

2.9
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
  • 2
  • 7

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
37.2 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Michael Kogan?

Showing 12 of 17 Ratings

Great Surgeon

Posted on December 16th, 2015

I am a repeat patient, with Dr. Kogan having performed a complete knee replacement prior to a recent and different knee surgery. Dr. Kogan is a phenomenally skilled surgeon. His attention to the details is unfailing. Yes, waiting time can be annoying, however, Dr. Kogan spends whatever time it takes to explain the process and answer all questions and when I walk out of the office; I know exactly the plan of action. And, no, he doesn’t engage in mindless chatter and I appreciate that, as I want the facts: procedure, recovery, and rehabilitation. I choose Dr. Kogan when I need surgery knowing that he is a perfectionist, that he is a highly competent, skilled surgeon and that I’m in good hands. I have had no complications after surgery, because of the attention to detail that Dr. Kogan pays to pre-surgical preparation. Bedside manner, I’ve got family and friends to visit after a successful surgery. Successful surgery, I’ve got Dr. Kogan, none better.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on June 25th, 2015

Excellent!!!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on April 24th, 2015

Never visited me in hospital after my knee replacement surgery. Would not recommend him

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Ms.

Posted on December 10th, 2014

Visiting Dr. Kogan was one of the most discouraging medical experiences I have ever had. Suffering with a severely sprained ankle that he admitted may involve ligament tear (MRI Validated) Mr. Kogan refused to assist with insurance related work issues. Furthermore, he paid no attention to my input regarding the function and pain level related to my injury. He displays an arrogant sense and creates a sense in my mind that his competence is marginal in his profession. Mr. Kogan should be avoided at all cost if you have alternate choices.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two Stars

Posted on January 31st, 2013

Doctor Kogan has no regard for your time. Each of the three appointments I had he was an hour late with no apology upon entering the room. He does not listen to concerns and at times makes you feel like your descriptions of the symptoms is irrelevant. As a diagnostic, he misdiagnosed my husband torn rotator cuff until he performed surgery on a torn muscle and then found the torn cuff. I think he has too many Jacob’s high school students coming to him for sports injuries which in turn has made him lose touch with the value of a customer.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Excellent doctor

Posted on April 16th, 2012

Dr. Kogan has performed two surgeries for me, rotator cuff and a shattered wrist plus treated me for back and other shoulder issues. I have recommended him many times. He is one of the finest doctors I know.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two Stars

Posted on March 8th, 2012

Good doctor but the wait time is crazy! Problem is they are overbooking patients!My time is important too, let's make some changes here.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

WIsh I never went to him

Posted on November 19th, 2009

Had laproscopic surgery to remove a 1" cylinder of bone between my humerous and rotator cuff. He spent an hour"digging for it" and couldn't find it.It was very visible in the x-ray and in the MRI. He worked on my humerous bone which he said to smooth it out. Needless to say I was not happy. He told me he would have to do complete shoulder replacement to remove the cylider which was causing me excruciating pain. After 2 years of suffering with the pain (I was afraid to have anyone work on my shoulder after that) and having little use of my arm, I went to a surgeon in Evanston. He said I did not need complete shoulder repacement but that he would cap the humerus bone as it was damaged but it didn't need to be replaced It took him 1 minute to remove the cylinder and over an hour to repair the humerous as it had grown locked in place with arthritis. I did not have that before Dr. Kogan worked on it.I now no longer have any pain and have regained use of my arm. He never should have done the arthroscopic surgery as he didn't know what he was doing. My new surgeon found it hard to beleive that Dr. Kogan could not find it.I was lucky he didn't damage all of the nerves in my arm. Dr. Kogan wanted to do complete shoulder replacement which I did not need. I felt he was totaly incompetent and caused me much pain.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on October 6th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on August 13th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on February 7th, 2017

One Star

Posted on December 19th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Michael Kogan is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Algonquin, IL.