The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Michael Shapiro Is this you?

Filter Reviews

39 Ratings • 7 Comments

3.5
  • 20
  • 2
  • 4
  • 4
  • 9

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Friendly Staff
Promptness
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
16.7 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Michael Shapiro?

Showing 12 of 39 Ratings

Failure to treat properly after surgery

Posted on February 22nd, 2017

Had surgery on knee for minor menicus repair. 5 months later and after seeing him every 3 weeks in between and complaining of severe pain still, I find out from another doctor I need a full knee replacement. If Shapiro had done a simple x-ray at 2 months when I was still complaining of pain, he would have caught problem and it could have been reversed at that time. Now it is too late due to his negliect. Very disappointed.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on February 1st, 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

no bedside manner and could not care less

Posted on November 21st, 2015

He walks in to the room and fails to greet. took 2 minutes to examine one knee and refused to look at the other. He gets up and walks out.

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on October 12th, 2015

Very nice and seems to be on his game. No issues in Valencia office

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr. Shapiro is a highly educated, divinely skilled, and seasoned professional!

Posted on April 16th, 2014

I thank God for Dr. Shapiro. If he hadn't volunteered to see me outside of business hours for an emergency situation (I was thrown out of a Facey Dr.'s office after causing a scene due to a horrible fall because this lunatic Dr. made me wait for well over an hour and I was in a crisis situation as you will soon see)....I am certain I would not have any use of my hands whatsoever today. I am grateful I was tossed out of that other incompetent Dr.'s office because I was blessed with the BEST, Dr. Michael Shapiro. This man is a genius! Not only did it take 9 operations to gain use of my hands without excruciating pain, he combined the last operation into a 3 in 1 operation because he had the foresight to see patients with my condition requiring two additional operations to fix future problems from the initial. Saving me the pain and suffering two MORE operations would have caused. I know I couldn't have endured two more. Understand if he were solely driven by money, he would have made three times the amount of money and not said a word to me. Luckily for me... excellence could be his middle name and grace and compassion are this man's clothing. You couldn't ask for a more knowledgeable or skilled orthopedic surgeon than Dr. Shapiro. I had to fight Facey to continue to see him and went through horrible pain for a year seeing every doctor they forced me to see before they FINALLY agreed to let me see Shapiro again as he is a "consultant" to Facey. In my opinion, there isn't ANYONE I would trust with my hands other than him and he was well worth a year in pain versus a lifetime of loss of use if another less competent Dr. was introduced. If you have the chance to see Dr. Shapiro as he is a busy Dr., do whatever it takes to do so. Not only will you receive the best in care, but you'll be better off just knowing him. He constantly amazed me by his superior intelligence. From politics to medicine, he is involved in this country and the community. When at a function with Hilary Clinton, Shapiro says..."Hilary, how can we justify "forced care" when the diminished standard of care it ultimately results in will cost Americans their health and many their lives. The freedom to choose should never be something one barters with. How will that play out for the average man? His standard of care will diminish not improve and we need to take a closer look at the devastating effects this system will have on the citizens of United States!" If Shapiro has the hutspa to approach Hilary Clinton and is invited to functions she attends, bold and equipped with research and studies to back up what comes out of his mouth, we really should consider this man our guardian angel because that is truly what he represents not only to his patients but to his fellowman. If you are lucky enough to get him or tenacious enough to insist on him, the outcome of your situation could very well change the course of the rest of your life....I know it has mine.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

ONE AND A HALF BAD KNEE REPLACEMENTS

Posted on August 24th, 2012

IN 2009 DR SHAPIRO PREFORMED A TOTAL KNEE REPLACEMENT. IN 2010 DR SHAPIRO SAID HE NEEDED TO REPLACE THE UPPER PART OF THE KNEE AGAIN. THIS IS 8/24/2012 NOW I NEED ANOTHER TOTAL KNEE REPLACEMENT, I WOULD NOT RECCOMEND THIS DOCTER

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Very poor bedside manner

Posted on September 4th, 2008

You have a couple minutes to state your problem before he walks away from you.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on October 5th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on September 21st, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on August 3rd, 2017

One Star

Posted on June 5th, 2017

One Star

Posted on October 19th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Michael Shapiro is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Tarzana, CA.