ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Michael Shinners Is this you?

Filter Reviews

25 Ratings • 8 Comments

3.7
  • 16
  • 0
  • 2
  • 0
  • 7

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
11.7 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Michael Shinners?

Showing 12 of 25 Ratings

Avoid this Doctor

Posted on December 12th, 2017

I have never had a worse experience with a medical professional. Dr. Shinners was belligerent from the moment he walked in. He refused to discuss my symptoms or answer my questions. He made a snap diagnosis without looking at my medical records, notes from previous specialists, or performing any physical exam. Shockingly unprofessional. At one point, he aggressively leaned in so close while lecturing me that I had to ask him three times to back off. My after-visit form had information that directly contradicted specific statements he made during my visit. Avoid this doctor at all costs.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

The Best Hands Down

Posted on April 7th, 2016

I am so impressed with Dr. Shinners and his staff. Yvonne has gone above and beyond her duties to help me prepare for surgery with Dr. Shinners. Her customer service has been the Best experience I have ever had with any doctor office. Dr. Shinners was very polite, thorough explaining the surgery, the after effects, the things that may occur during or after surgery. I am more than grateful to Dr. Shinners, Yvonne, and the Northshore staff. I would recommend this office one thousand times.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Migraine associated vertigo!

Posted on October 27th, 2015

Waste of my time seeing Michael Shinner! I had a resident talk with me about my issues. They spoke with out me in hall. I met him and he didn't ask me any questions and diagnosed me with migraine associated vertigo. I was told I had Menieres disease for an ent. Why I was sent to shinners. I seen several doctors and neurologist after and all said I have menieres disease. He told me I did not have that disease which he was wrong, didn't ask me questions, was pretty much a jerk who thought by looking at me he knew what I had. WRONG! Don't recommend him at all!

Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr. Shinners is great doctor & surgeon who delivers excellent results iwth compassion - True patenit advocate

Posted on May 24th, 2015

I highly recommend Dr. Shinners who is an outstanding and compassionate ENT doctor and surgeon. As a single mom with 2 young children, I woke up one day with sudden hearing loss and and became completely functionally deaf with a few short months. Dr. Shinners was thoughtful and caring through this hearing loss and my unexpected rapid transiton from being a hearing adult to a completely deaf mom. He is an excellent & experienced surgeon who performed my double cochlear implant surgery and oversaw my rehab with his great team of audiologists as I literally had to relearn altogether how to hear again from scratch with my new implants and hearing system. When my husband and his lawyers accused me of faking deafness and not needing ADA captioning accommodations to understand what was going on in our divorce trial, Dr. Shinners continued to advocate and fight for me and my health. He went above-and-beyond the call of duty and is truly a rock star. Highly recommend,

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Very personable, considerable expertise, and handsome to boot.

Posted on September 18th, 2014

I've been a regular patient of Dr. Shinners. He has examined me multiple times and operated on me more than once. He is kind and empathetic. Further, he has always taken the time to fully explain issues and answer my questions. I appreciate his honesty and demeanor and my visits are always professional yet amiable.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Very thorough and thoughtful

Posted on November 16th, 2013

Dr. Shinners does not give up when faced with a difficult diagnosis. When we had questions after surgery, he was very quick to call back even when he wasn't on call, always squeezed in appointments when necessary, and spent as much time as required. He even called personally the day after surgery to see how things were going, something I have never before experienced. The nurse might call, but the surgeon? Practically unheard of. If you have a really difficult situation in his specialty, you will be in excellent hands!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Very pleased!

Posted on September 12th, 2013

In my experience, Dr. Shinners is gregarious, kind, and makes the patient feel welcome. He is an excellent listener, very thorough in exams and questions, and does an excellent job explaining things in a helpful way. He really validates the patient's assessments, thoughts, and plans for healing while still telling the professional truth. Somehow he is able to do all of this in a timely way --- you get in and out, but you feel heard, understood, and helped. He is a great team player and does an excellent job coordinating with my other physicians (since my case is complicated). His staff is excellent -- always very professional and courteous. Overall, Dr. Shinners is really exceptional! Highly recommended.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Very Poor Patient Rapport

Posted on May 5th, 2012

Dr. Michael Shinners was one of the worst and most un-empathetic doctors I have encountered. He interrupted every answer I gave to his own questions, and contradicted the answers I gave. He clearly was not interested in listening to me. He was arrogant and domineering in his mannerisms toward me. He repeatedly chastised me by telling me to follow the recommendation of another physician, which I was doing since that physician was my referral doctor to him. He refused to evaluate me medically for the condition I went in for, stating that what I experiencing could not be vestibular disorder, even though I had 26 of 33 symptoms associated with the disorder. In the middle of the very short appointment, he jumped up and grabbed an ear light, looking quickly inside only 1 of my ears. I know he did this to be able to show as later evidence that he used 'a diagnostic tool.' However, looking into my 1 ear with a light is not the diagnostic method for vestibular disorder. I left feeling humiliated, frustrated, and angry, and used. I spent earned sick time and driving time in a busy city to have an appointment with him, including my insurance co-pay. If he knew so quickly he would not evaluate me, he could have reviewed my chart prior to my appt. and cancelled, saving me the cost. He made money off me out of this deal, and he did not deliver. I would not recommend this doctor to anyone.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on October 9th, 2017

One Star

Posted on July 24th, 2016

One Star

Posted on June 16th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on May 16th, 2016

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Michael Shinners is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Evanston, IL.