The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Patrick Chang Is this you?

Vitals cannot verify whether or not this professional is currently practicing. We recommend that you attempt to contact the provider to verify their status. Please email us at support@vitals.com if you have any additional information.

Filter Reviews

9 Ratings • 7 Comments

3.4
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
  • 3

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
21.4 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 9 of 9 Ratings

One Star

Posted on August 15th, 2016

Dr. Chang performed laparoscopic hernia surgery on me. I needed the left side only, but he suggested both sides(a mistake). After surgery I lost the nerves that control the ability to urinate. Discovered after years of damage to kidney. Do not have this Dr. Touch you

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on January 17th, 2013

I can not begin to explain how unprofessional this doctor is. First of all, he does not use gloves when touching patients in their private areas which is absolutely unsanitary. Secondly, he openly admits about his bad results after destroying the quality of life of a man who did not need the surgery. He also openly admits if he expected such horrible results from hernia repair surgery, he would of never performed the elective surgery. This is absolutely a horrific experience. He will give you a bruise bigger than the hernia and make you incontinant and tell you to wear depends or pads and good luck. If you need any surgery, do not use Dr. Chang!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Parotid and Thyroid Surgery 1988

Posted on November 20th, 2012

Dr.Chang performed my Thyroidectomy and also Parotid Tumor Surgery. The parotid tumor was benign, but threatened to cause facial paralysis. There was also a risk of facial paralysis from surgery.Dr Chang did a wonderful job,no paralysis, and best of all no one can see my scars,not even professionals. He was amazing and I thank him and have highly recommended him to others.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr CHANG is my worst nightmare

Posted on September 29th, 2012

Dr Chang performed 2 surgeries on me in 8 days. He misdiagnosed my Appendiceal Cancer as Colon Cancer and bullied me into having a Colon Resection which I DID NOT need. Almost 2 years later I live with the remifications of that horrible surgery. Dr Chang is an angry man who lacks compassion and treats his patients like a number. I will live with the horror of my cancer diagnosis from Dr Changs abrubt and unforgiving mouth. I was bullied into surgery without a second opinion, a decision I have to live with for the rest of my life with. I hope no one EVER has to experience the heartless Dr Chang!

Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on September 23rd, 2012

I would definitely recommend Dr Chang. Based on every aspect of my experience, including relative lack of discomfort during recovery from surgery as compared to that experienced by acquaintances who have undergone similar procedures, I could not be more satisfied with his performance.

Wait time
55.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Very pleased!

Posted on March 19th, 2012

I would definitely recommend Dr. Chang. He was very thorough and explained the pros and cons for my procedure. I've read some reviews on him about not having a bedside manner but I must say that he was very sincere and caring towards me. He performed my partial thyroidectomy and although it's only day # 3, I've been very pleased with the outcome. I'm happy I chose him as my surgeon!

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Excellent Surgeon

Posted on September 12th, 2011

Overall care was excellent. He is a man of few words but an excellent surgeon. He came highly recommended by another doctor of mine that I have the utmost faith in. I would highly recommend Dr. Chang to a family member.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on February 12th, 2015

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Two Stars

Posted on February 13th, 2010

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Patrick Chang is similar to the following 3 Doctors near West Orange, NJ.