ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Paul Trautman Is this you?

Filter Reviews

14 Ratings • 7 Comments

2.5
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
  • 8

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
10 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Paul Trautman?

Showing 12 of 14 Ratings

Insensitive, moody, unprofessional

Posted on June 24th, 2016

Although Dr. Trautman spends a decent amount of time evaluating his patients and talking to them and his costs are reasonable, his bedside manner leaves much to be desired. At times, he does not return calls or takes several days to do so, regardless of the urgency. More recently, I was in need of medication (which he regularly prescribes me) and he refused to call it in because it was his day off. At times, he has been moody and rude on the phone, which is unacceptable for a psychiatrist, responsible for the well-being of vulnerable patients. I am searching for a new doctor.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on April 13th, 2016

One of the rudest doctors ever! I've never been treated so awful my a person let alone a doctor in my life. For someone who should be compassionate, kind and helpful he is the total opposite.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Not really nice or helpful.

Posted on October 5th, 2015

He's really only interested in giving prescriptions and charging your insurance. No real interest in helping you with any issues. He lets you know point blank that he's not there for therapy.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on July 6th, 2014

Dr. Trautman has helped my child for the past 8 years. He is highly intelligent and knowledgeable. When he doesn't know something, he doesn't hesitate to do the research -- in other words, unlike many doctors, he doesn't need to act all-knowing and powerful. He is human and humane. He treats my child with respect and has made himself available during emergencies. I put only 3 stars for Bedside Manner because his personality is not particularly warm and "mushy". However, he shows much empathy and caring through his actions. He also takes various insurance when most psychiatrists have stopped doing that (i.e., he is absolutely not money-hungry).

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Irresponsible

Posted on January 14th, 2014

Dr. Trautman isn't interested in any kind of contact or treatment, he just wants to write a prescription and get patients in and out as quickly as possible. Beyond that he can be very irritable if he makes a mistake and you are forced to point it out; he has behaved childishly and vindictively. I don't this is appropriate for a psychiatrist (or any kind of doctor). I wonder if this is more common when doctors become elderly? Dr. Trautman is only in his sixties but early onset dementia is not uncommon in ones sixties.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

One Star

Posted on November 1st, 2011

If your child has an eating disorder, do not go to this doctor! Inaccurate at diagnosis and prescribes medicines not supposed to be given to those with eating disorders. Does not answer phone calls from other therapists.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One of best psychiatrists I've ever had

Posted on February 16th, 2011

I have been going to Dr. Trautman since early 2007, and during that time have had practically non-stop family and financial crises. During all this time, Dr. Trautman has been enormously supportive and kind, and extremely wise as well as accommodating during numerous stressful, emergency situations. He is also outstanding in his knowledge of pharmacology. This might sound like a paid advertisement, but I have had many psychiatrists, both for myself and for my family, over forty years, and Dr. Trautman is definitely, along with a few select others, the absolute tops. He is also a child and adolescent psychiatrist, and helped my family through two life-threatening emergencies for two teenagers; no one could not have done a better job. In addition, he has special expertise in my profession, which is an added bonus that I don't expect in a medical professional, but which has been a godsend. With deep thanks from a very grateful patient.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on March 20th, 2017

One Star

Posted on March 29th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on March 14th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on September 18th, 2015

One Star

Posted on June 8th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Paul Trautman is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Ramsey, NJ.