The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Paul Urbanek Is this you?

Filter Reviews

14 Ratings • 7 Comments

2.6
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
  • 7

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
21.7 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Paul Urbanek?

Showing 12 of 14 Ratings

Horrible Bedside Manner

Posted on September 27th, 2013

Dr. Urbanek was treating our infant daughter before we switched to Boston Children's. He has a horrible bedside manner and is in and out the door. When he is done with the exam he just leaves the room, even if you are trying to ask questions. If he answers the questions it is while is standing in the doorway and answers them very vaguely and in a hurry. He doesn't elaborate with his answers either and doesn't give you the whole picture. We were not at all comfortable with him and didn't really have any faith in him to treat our daughter. We left his office upset and confused every time. He seems to know what he is talking about medically but that is only one part of being a doctor as far as I'm concerned. Do yourself a favor and make the trip to Boston Children's...I wish we would have went their in the first place.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

horrible doctor

Posted on October 11th, 2012

diagnosed my son with nothing wrong saying he is "just a kid" got a second opinion at boston childrens and in fact my son did have a problem with his legs.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Gives Concord Ortho a bad name

Posted on June 19th, 2012

This physician was downright rude to my son and I. He looked at the x-ray and stated "well it's definitely broken - nothing we can do for you". He went on to suggest we could take off the sling and do some pendulum exercises. The exercises were excruciating to my child and the swelling became much worse. I took my child to a provider at DHMC and he immediately put my child in a splint, told us to not do any exercises. Dr. Urbanek was dismissive and arrogant. We will never go back to him if any of our other 3 children have problems.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on May 15th, 2012

I think he is arrogant and full of himself he thinks hes alot better than he actually is you ask him a question he cant answer it he says that braces are wrong but wont provid better suggestions u call to ask a questions and hes going on vacation so he cant be bothered to try and answer your question when i tell other health professionals they are completely disgusted by him and would not recommend him to anyone im sorry i let my kid see him

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on September 14th, 2011

Dr. Urbanek was provided information via fax from the physical therapist working with our child, it discussed issues with the shape of our child's head, and the shape and location of our child's jaw, when we asked him what he thought of the fax, he chucked, and dismissed it with a pompous grin and chuckle. Now his arrogance may cost our child correct posture, growth, and ability to walk and move correctly.

Wait time
50.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on October 1st, 2009

We did not like this doctor at all. My child was ignored when he would ask question regarding their scoliosis. Did not take the precautionary measures that would have been required to receive and accurate diagnose even though he admitted that what the x-rays we had were not good enough to conclude a proper diagnose. He was just very unprofessional according to my standards.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Scoliosis expert

Posted on July 4th, 2008

My son had rods inplanted in his back for scoliosis, this MD was extremely patient with all of our questions. He treated my 16 yr old as an adult. we were very comfortable with him

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on April 7th, 2017

One Star

Posted on February 18th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on April 9th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Two Stars

Posted on January 20th, 2015

Two Stars

Posted on November 11th, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Paul Urbanek is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Concord, NH.