The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Peter Mckay Is this you?

Filter Reviews

18 Ratings • 8 Comments

4.1
  • 13
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
  • 3

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
9.5 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Peter Mckay?

Showing 12 of 18 Ratings

Not good

Posted on January 10th, 2017

Had some really questionable experiences with both Dr. McKay and his staff - I'd never recommend him to anyone I know.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on July 18th, 2016

Love Dr. McCay...very practical and down to earth physician. Does not order extensive testing for my elderly mother and understands her age as a factor in her care. Has a great sense of humor!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on May 11th, 2015

I have had Dr McKay as my PC for approximately 20 years. I have always received quality service by staff. Very informative discussions and wonderful bedside manner by Dr McKay. He adds a personal touch to delivering his expertise that is greatly appreciated. I am a very happy patient. Never had long wait periods.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

mom of previous Lyme Disease patient.

Posted on March 31st, 2014

My daughter, our whole family, credits Dr. McKay with saving her life. Dr. McKay thinks out of the box when needed, is kind, accurate & not only spends enough time with the patient so (s)he feels heard, he's interested in really helping patients and maximizing their quality of life. He takes Lyme Disease seriously.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Wonderful Doctor

Posted on January 10th, 2012

I have had Dr. McKay as my primary doctor now for five years. He always takes whatever time is needed during the visit.He does have a very dry and different type of personality, very witty. I realize this is perhaps unusual for a doctor, but find it very refreshing! My husband and I both feel comfortable under his care.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on October 23rd, 2011

I would not recommend Dr. McKay to anyone. He has misdiagnosed me a few times, not due to any complexity of the illnesses but his oversight of obvious symptoms. The main issue with him is his bedside manner. He is inappropriate and his social skills are abysmal.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr I don't care

Posted on August 12th, 2011

This doctor seems more about finding get rich quick schemes, and in 4 years has tried a few. Open sores yet does not wear gloves. Passive/aggressive snide comments when asked for referrals. Seems to think knows all, yet is not affiliated with hospital & has no other doctors in his office to monitor his actions and poor behavior. Written record of visits submitted to insurance company is full of inaccuracies since this doctor has a bizarre handsOFF approach, yet in writes in his review of office visits that he's performed checks that would minimally require being changed into a paper gown & touched since much of what he wrote he did requires the doctor to palpate the abdomen, and so on. This dr. has nobody covering for him after hours or on weekends, which is not a comforting feeling. His attitude is far from a good bedside manner, and recently all patients are required to be subjected to random drug tests-although when questioned about this, the patient is told the test is to check the health of the patient-when in fact its a drug test pure simple. For a doctor to lie, and this is only one of a few of his flat out lies, is not right. I have no confidence in this doctor, nor do I find his attitude to be anything but self serving. The office is not clean, the exam rooms are tiny and dimly lit. The doctor sits on one end of the room trying to use the latest gimmick he's added, apparently for yet another shortcut to make his job easier, while not making eye contact with patient. This doctor needs to be monitored and thoroughly checked out since he does not act in a professional manner, or treat his patients with basic dignity.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

A doctor you can talk to

Posted on July 13th, 2011

I have been going to Dr. McKay for about 10 years. In every situation, and with every medical condition, I have found him to be knowledgeable, attentive, and easy to talk to. Dr. McKay has a busy practice, but I never feel as if he's rushing to the next patient. I recommend Dr. McKay unconditionally.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on May 13th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on January 20th, 2016

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on July 30th, 2015

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Four Stars

Posted on July 7th, 2015

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Peter Mckay is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Harwich, MA.