The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Peter Tothy Is this you?

Filter Reviews

16 Ratings • 7 Comments

4.3
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
  • 2

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
10.6 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Peter Tothy?

Showing 12 of 16 Ratings

Time Saver

Posted on September 5th, 2017

I recently changed from other local hematologist for my low iron. I was receiving infusions every week with little benefit. I got a second opinion from Dr. Tothy. He gave he 2 dose of different iron in 1 week. My blood count went up and I haven't needed additional iron in 4 months! He has saved me so many hours and time off work.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great Experience

Posted on September 1st, 2017

From front desk to medical assistant, the lab, the nurses - all great experience. Dr. Tothy is very knowledgable, well connected with experts in Indy and Chicago and show he cares about me. Great sense of humor too. Such a wonderful office and MD!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on December 4th, 2015

Changed from other MD in area based on friend's recommendation at church. Very pleased with his knowledge and communication. Couldn't ask for more. Spent more time with me during first visit than the last 10 visits combined with my old MD. NWI's TOP DOC!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Top Doc!

Posted on April 17th, 2013

I transfered from another oncologist in the area. Dr. T. is a world of difference (for the better)! He listens, is never rushed, and truly cares. He has a great command of knowledge and is well connected with the University Hospitals in Chicago and Indy. Can't ask for better. I've encouraged others to RUN to his office. Great friendly staff too!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two Stars

Posted on October 27th, 2010

wait time is entirely too long, he commands that patients that have been stable for years to continue to pay office visits on bi week or monthly schedule..I have never had to wait less than 45 minutes to see this doctor, also will not make it convenient for patient to have labs closer to home, insists everything must be done at office...REMINDER, THIS IS FOR A PATIENT THAT IS STABLE WITH NO PROBLEMS AND ONLY NEEDS INR'S DONE EVERY OTHER WEEK

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Fanstastic Cancer MD

Posted on October 27th, 2008

Dr. Tothy was prompt, thorough, warm and caring. I'm recommend him to anyone. Treated me with current therapies. Has a wealth of knowledge.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Excellent oncologist!!!

Posted on September 19th, 2008

Fantastic!!! Very warm, caring & listens well. Up to date with cutting edge treatments. Knowledgeable about chemotherapy and alternatives. I value his helping my mother with her cancer. Fantastic at addressing symptoms and side effects. Highly recommended to all my friends/family. Unfortunately he now is in Merrillville, Indiana, but will travel there for his cancer care.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on May 9th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on April 10th, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on October 3rd, 2014

One Star

Posted on August 11th, 2014

Five Stars

Posted on May 23rd, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Peter Tothy is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Merrillville, IN.