The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Philip Maurice Is this you?

Vitals cannot verify whether or not this professional is currently practicing. We recommend that you attempt to contact the provider to verify their status. Please email us at support@vitals.com if you have any additional information.

Filter Reviews

29 Ratings • 14 Comments

3.7
  • 17
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1
  • 8

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
31.8 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 12 of 29 Ratings

Brilliant

Posted on March 29th, 2017

This doctor is brilliant - atypical doctor knows his stuff and more and is always ready and able to find the root of the medical problem. after my mother had been seen by several specialists he diagnosed the problem. I have been seeing Dr. Maurice for over 12 years and it's always been a positive experience. He takes the time necessary with you, so if I have to wait 20 minutes that's fine, he's doing the same for the patient before me. Wouldn't trust any doctor as I do Dr. Maurice.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Felt used and abused

Posted on November 1st, 2016

Mu first appointment went great, I thought I finally found a caring doctor. Starting from the next appointment when I waited an hour and a half just to be called back to a room, then waited another 1/2 hour to be seen, I thought I would get some kind of apology for the wait. I realize I'm not a doctor so I must have ample time in my schedule to sit and do nothing but listen to NPR radio with a do not touch sign on it. Then when he's completed his meaningless task of asking questions and writing everything in long hand, he walks me or any other patient out to make another appointment and stands there and talks about nothing really, using foul language like he's at a bar somewhere and leaving 2 in the waiting room and one in a patient room waiting to see him. He's a classless boob that thinks his degree gives him permission to abuse his patients.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on September 20th, 2016

I have been seeing him off and on for over 20 years. I trust him and know I will get answers and a name to my health problems. I have gone to him after many other specialty docs have thrown up their hands and said they didn't know what the problem was. This is why I keep coming back. I know him from my days at working at the hospital. He has a great reputation with the staff as being knowledgeable. He is an odd character, but a great doc. He can be abrasive, so know that going in. Not your run of the mill doc. He will sit with you and take extensive notes. I trust him with my life. Sometimes a long wait.

Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great

Posted on June 11th, 2015

It was my first appt and he is going to be my doctor . He took so much interest in my histroy and explained me how i develped epilapsy and what we will do to control it. I was so much worried before seeing him and when i got out i was so relaxed that I found a person who will really help me.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Grumpy and not open for discussion.

Posted on January 28th, 2015

Long wait times, grumpy behavior by doc. Doesn't want patient input, his way or highway.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Brillliant

Posted on January 3rd, 2014

Yes, you will wait to see Dr. Maurice, but when you do, he's just focused on you and spends as much time as needed. He controlled my migraines and gave me my life back. He has forgotten more than most will ever know. Definitely not your stereotypical doctor but rather a unique and unusual 'dude' left over from the sixties. The best.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Mr.

Posted on July 6th, 2013

An absolutely brilliant, honest, and iconoclastic doctor --- and a DOCTOR to the core. If you've tried others who cannot discover the source of your "problem" or "ailing," see THIS PERSON.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Life Saver

Posted on May 31st, 2013

My sister would not be alive if t weren't for Dr. Maurice. He was brought in to a very difficult case , did an amazing amount of research and brought solutions. Such a wonderful, caring Dr. He would be my first call!

Wait time
5 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Different Kind of Doctor ... yet Outstanding

Posted on October 3rd, 2012

He's not the run of the mill, know that before you go in. If you want a doctor that can read between the lines and follow hunches easily .. he's your man. Not doctorly-looking, not conventional, but soooo smart your head will spin. You just have to know that beforehand. Hope he practices until I don't need him anymore. He has saved my life on more than one occasion when nobody else in the medical profession could figure out what was going on with me. GREAT hunches.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One of a kind

Posted on September 17th, 2012

Have never found a doctor who was so thorough and who takes the time nowadays as that is a rarity!

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

RUDE, UNCARING, ABANDONS PATIENTS, SEVERELY HURT PATIENT'S CARE

Posted on May 4th, 2012

THIS DOCTOR MAKES YOU WAIT A VERY LONG TIME, OVER AN HOUR, HARDLY EVER ORDERS BLOOD OR LAB TESTS, OVER-MEDICATES, AND DOES NOT CARE ABOUT PATIENT NEEDS OR MAKE A CORRECT DIAGNOSIS, SO THAT PATIENT'S CAN RECEIVE PROPER CARE. THIS DOCTOR ALSO JUST ABANDONED THREE PATIENTS, AND LEFT THEM WITH NO MEDICAL CARE , WHICH CONSTITUTES UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT AND WILL BE REPORTED TO THE MEDICAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA. THIS DOCTOR HAS BEEN ON PROBATION BEFORE FROM THE MEDICAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA AND IS NOT ALLOWED TO PRACTICE AT LOS ROBLES HOSPITAL IN THOUSAND OAKS. PLEASE CHECK THE MEDICAL BOARD WEBSITE, I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS DOCTOR.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Best ever and I'm not a relative

Posted on April 22nd, 2012

This doctor is one of a kind....very easy to talk to and always answers your questions in a way that you can thoroughly understand.Well worth any kind of wait time. I would not hesitate to recommend this doctor to anyone!

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Philip Maurice is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Camarillo, CA.