ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Ramesh Gihwala Is this you?

Filter Reviews

28 Ratings • 5 Comments

3.5
  • 13
  • 2
  • 4
  • 3
  • 6

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
39 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Ramesh Gihwala?

Showing 12 of 28 Ratings

Patient

Posted on March 28th, 2013

I have been a patient of Dr.G for 5 years and I greatly appreciate the care and attention provided to my children and myself. We all went through a rough time after the death of my husband and Dr. G and his staff have always taken very good care of us. He is a little slow but that is because he takes his time with each of his patients. He has had a couple of boo boo's working for him in the past but they are no longer there because he takes the complaints of his patients very seriously. He is very thorough and very compassionate. He never forgets a face and he calls each patient by name. Because of the abuse of drugs such as Xanax on the streets he does have his patients come in every month to be drug tested. Its not convenient but I understand. No days most doctors won't call in any refills on anything other than blood pressure meds. I was on a high dose of Xanax from another doctor that I saw and I did experience withdrawls when I ran out of meds. Dr. G explained that this was not the treatment for my disorder and he transitioned me onto another medication. I have never felt better. So, if you want a docotor who will give you benzo's and call in stuff without monitoring you, YOU will not be happy with Dr. Gihwala. If you want a doctor who won't monitor you and do what the medical board requires a good physician to do then YOU won't be happy with Dr. Gihwala. But, if you are like millions of people like myself who just want to get their life back, Dr Gihwala is the psychiatrist for you!

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Patient

Posted on January 28th, 2013

I got the feeling that he and his staff really cared about me. They took their time and listen to every concern that I had. Although they are only open two days a week, I felt that I was important to them and they followed up with me as they said they would.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Not Impressed

Posted on January 23rd, 2012

I have just recently begun seeing Dr. Gihwala. I've only had my first appointment and overall am concerned with how much he really cares about his patients. After telling him the medications that I had been on 7-9 years ago and how they affected me negatively, he then prescribed two of them again. I have suffered constant migraines from the medication and I have tried to reach ANYONE at his office during their new business hours to discuss my medications but nobody EVER picks up the phone or calls you back. I have been trying to schedule a second appointment for 2 weeks now, only calling during his new business hours, and still cannot get anyone to pick up the phone or return my calls. Completely fed up and will not be returning for a follow-up visit even if I do ever get a call back from them. I wouldn't recommend Dr. Gihwala to anyone in the area. If you need to see someone, look elsewhere. I'm sure there has to be another doctor in the area that actually does care about their patients.

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Irresponsible and Unbelievable!

Posted on January 2nd, 2012

I was seeing Dr. Gihwala for 8 months. It was time to refill my prescription and I was informed that he was out of the country and I would have to go to a walk-in clinic to get my refills. My medication is controlled and I will go into full withdrawals if I quit taking it cold turkey. I was a good patient, followed all of his suggestions and did not fail any drug tests given. I can't believe I was treated in such a way.

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

My experience

Posted on August 30th, 2011

I have see this Dr for more than 10 months. He does not recognize me by face, and asks no questions other than writing prescriptions that you must see him monthly to have written. He will not refill a prescription by phone, in fact his staff refuses to bother him with the inquiries on it. They continually schedule appointments long after you prescriptions are due to be refilled leaving you little options, as the secretarial staff repeatedly will say "The only appt available is XXX date", which is 5-12 days after your medications run out. If you question them, they tell you that you can can the appt. or leave it. After transferring to his office closer to where I live, I was informed I would have to rego an entire intake and evaluation billing medicare/medicaid for tests that had already previously been done, but his inept staff didn't transfer. You can typically guess that your appt to be seen is going to be no less than 2 hours, I've heard people complaining that they had been in his office going on 4 hours MULTIPLE times. This Dr. I would not refer anyone for any reason, and am reporting his unprofessional and inept conduct to the state and federal authorities to get this Dr. from being able to milk the medical system out of millions.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Three Stars

Posted on September 29th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on August 13th, 2017

One Star

Posted on June 21st, 2017

Four Stars

Posted on May 17th, 2017

Four Stars

Posted on May 17th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on March 14th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on March 14th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Ramesh Gihwala is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Gastonia, NC.