The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Robert Grunsten Is this you?

Filter Reviews

21 Ratings • 7 Comments

3.7
  • 12
  • 0
  • 3
  • 1
  • 5

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
15.2 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Robert Grunsten?

Showing 12 of 21 Ratings

Responsive and Kind

Posted on September 22nd, 2017

Dr. Grunsten is kind, listens to my concerns, responds to my messages quickly and is overall a very professional psychiatrist. He's been helping me for years.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

B.A. MHP

Posted on January 26th, 2015

Knowledgeable; however lacks severely in responding to client's needs once they have left his office.

Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Looking for competent psychiatrist

Posted on September 28th, 2014

I had one appointment with this physician so far. When I arrived, he did not have my appointment listed and asked if we just texted a few minutes ago. I said "no, we confirmed 3 weeks ago". He had no knowledge. I showed him our text confirmation. He asked me two more times when we confirmed! He wasn't even listening. He said he had many messages in the last day and was also out of town. I repeated myself several times that we scheduled several weeks before. He said his new calendar wiped out some appointments. Luckily, his patient didn't arrive and he saw me for about 5 minutes or so. He did not ask for my history even though I tried to tell him as much as I could quickly while I showed him the bottle of what medication I was taking that needed a refill. He told me he would get my history next appointment. He wrote me a prescription and scheduled me for 3 months later. Later that day I got a text asking for some more information. I called and provided it. Two days later I received another text asking if he could clarify the purpose of the med I was taking. I had to tell him again what I was taking and why...not sure he even took note of it the first time. Rushed, disorganized, and unprofessional from first impressions. Maybe this will improve and was a fluke? Not a good start though.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great, helpful, and personable

Posted on May 5th, 2011

I'd definitely recommend Dr. G. He's very caring and has helped me figure out how to control my "problems".

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Don't expect consultation on issues

Posted on October 20th, 2010

My overall experience with Dr. Grunsten is that he has competence in understanding certain medications, dosages and side affects but aside from that do not expect any consultation on issues. He will readily prescribe and advise on medication but that is the extent of his treatment. He also limits his appointments to usually less than 10 minutes. He does not express any empathy, and/or affinity for you. I have had no luck establishing rapport, nor does he seem to have any interest in any thing regarding medication therapy. I am understanding from my current PhD Therapist that Psychiatry as a practice usually is confined to "medication management". In this case I would say Dr. Grunsten performs this task. But don't expect more.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on August 10th, 2010

This doctor has absolutely no bedside manner! My appts with him (to get refills of medications) last less than 5 minutes, and he seems more concerned with obtaining payment than with my actual health and well-being.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Do not recommend!

Posted on August 10th, 2010

This doctor has absolutely no bedside manner. My appts with him (which are in order to get refills on medication) last less than 5 minutes. He seems m ...

Accurate Diagnosis
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on October 11th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on March 28th, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on June 27th, 2016

Three Stars

Posted on February 23rd, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on January 26th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Robert Grunsten is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Chicago, IL.