The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Robert Epstein Is this you?

Filter Reviews

41 Ratings • 13 Comments

4.4
  • 31
  • 1
  • 3
  • 2
  • 4

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
14.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Robert Epstein?

Showing 12 of 41 Ratings

Excellent experience

Posted on November 6th, 2016

Caring, good listener, friendly, good explainer, analytical.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Patient

Posted on September 20th, 2016

Dr Epstein is the best optomologist ever. From day one I was always comfortable with him. He explains everything so that you understand. I am so sorry that he is no longer with Mercy. I am NOT happy that I have to change eye doctors. I will truly miss him and his staff

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Excellent doctor - where is he now??

Posted on August 9th, 2016

Dr. Epstein was my doctor for over 30 years. Was so surprised to get a phone call to say he was no longer at Mercy and my Friday appointment!! When I called back, they could only say that he was no longer at Mercy. He had joined Mercy. I'm hoping he has retired and 'let go'. I will seek to find him. He did my lasik years ago.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on August 4th, 2016

I have been seeing Dr. Epstein for over 25 years. Originally I came to him for eye surgery to correct my vision which was 20/500 in one eye and 20/600 in the other. After two surgeries (radial karetonomy/sp? and Laser), I am almost 20/20 (just need glasses to read from time to time). He also helped me with dry eye. He certainly was a God-send to me, and I will continue to have him as my doctor.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on May 15th, 2015

My Lasik surgery was one of the best things I've done for myself.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Excellent

Posted on December 31st, 2014

Excellent experience at the office with the office staff (efficient and attentive), doctor ( caring, informative, "on top" of my eye problem)

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Pleasant guy

Posted on October 9th, 2013

I found that Dr. Epstein was a good listener and a pleasant person with good humor.. He understood my problem and answered my questions. The office was efficient

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on September 2nd, 2013

Excellent surgeon. Brings newest techniques. Personable.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Excellent physician

Posted on September 2nd, 2013

I felt he very much cared about solving my eye problem and that I understood what to do

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

He knew what needed to be done when others did not

Posted on July 19th, 2013

I visited Dr. Epstein after having seen several other doctors who could not figure out why my sight was getting worse. He discovered that I have keratoconus and he did an office treatment that has greatly improved my sight. He demonstrated great caring and empathy. I am very grateful to him and have recommended him to many of my friends. I never felt rushed. He seems to get a fair number of people who travel hours to see him and I have talked with these people in the waiting room. I feel that I was really well cared for.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Show me the money!!

Posted on September 2nd, 2011

Very happy to provide LASIK surgery on my eyes. Yet the life time check up no longer applied after he was "purchased" by Mercy. 5 years later I need glasses again and his response is there must be some underlying factors which attributed to your vision loss.

Wait time
50.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two Stars

Posted on December 28th, 2010

I have never in my life waited so long for a Dr. appt. Once in the waiting area you better not get up to go to the bathroom or they will call the next patient and make you wait even longer. The Dr. appears very hurried when he finally gets to your appt.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Robert Epstein is similar to the following 3 Doctors near McHenry, IL.