The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Robert Mames Is this you?

Filter Reviews

13 Ratings • 10 Comments

4.7
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
6.3 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Robert Mames?

Showing 12 of 13 Ratings

Life Changing

Posted on December 7th, 2017

When I first visited Dr. Mames, my macular degeneration had gotten so bad that I could no longer read even with reading glasses. After only a few injections (absolutely painless) my sight had returned to nearly normal and I am once again able to read a book a day.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Excellent care

Posted on August 16th, 2017

I have been seeing Dr. Mames for about a year since moving to Ocala from the Boston area. I have severe Macular Degeneration in my left eye. Dr. Mames has been able to improve the sight in that eye dramatically. People often say Boston has the best medical care in the country. But, the care I have received from Dr. Mames has been far superior.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

A doctor's doctor

Posted on April 11th, 2017

He took the utmost care of my retina, and now I can see. Thank you Dr. Mames and your excellent, kind staff.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

What price for sight?

Posted on July 28th, 2015

Dr. Mames saved my sight. I had not only torn but also detached the retina in my left eye. When I arrived in his office, I was in sorry shape. He saw me promptly and told me exactly what was needed. Some ten days later I was operated on. We followed a strict schedule of visits and all the directions. As a result, I have 20/20 vision in my left eye. I am so grateful for Dr. Mames's skill and experience.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on June 4th, 2015

Dr. Mames was awesome! He saved me from going blind! Thank God I came to him.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

The Best Doc you could ever find!

Posted on May 9th, 2015

Dr. Mames saved me from being blind when no other Doc could. They all gave me no hope until I came to see Dr. Mames!!!!!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Arrogant Rude

Posted on April 15th, 2015

Twice my husband was contacted that they would like to reschedule his appt as Dr. Mames wouldn't be in. We rescheduled however we called to reschedule because my husband was very sick and could not make it. The girl has of course that would be fine. The morning of his appt. he was dressed to go but said he just did not have the strength and was still not feeling well. I called the office and told her what eas going on and she said that was fine and to call as soon as he felt up to . Well.today 4/13/15 my husband received a nasty letter saying that Dr. Mames would no longer see him and to find another doctor. If you have read this letter ypu could not have believed how incredibly unprofessional and uncaring doctor this man is and what a disgrace he is to others in this same profession.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on March 3rd, 2015

Dr. Mames is an excellent doctor! He saved me from being blind when all other surgeons couldn't help me! I don't know what I could do without him!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Excellent retina doctor

Posted on December 4th, 2012

sent by my optometrist to see him. Office staff was very pleasant and doctor diagnosed and explained to me the problem.. A ++ experience overall

Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

excellent, efficient care

Posted on September 7th, 2012

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on October 31st, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on May 21st, 2016

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Robert Mames is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Gainesville, FL.