The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Russell Novak Is this you?

Filter Reviews

94 Ratings • 19 Comments

4.3
  • 64
  • 8
  • 11
  • 4
  • 7

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Wait Time
15.5 min
Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Russell Novak?

Showing 12 of 94 Ratings

Not a compassionate fellow

Posted on November 19th, 2017

I was stunned and disappointed in Dr. Novak's "method, when he called @ 5;30 PM to tell me I had breast cancer....shouldn't I have had a appt to receive the news? I had another appt and truly felt like I was just another number, so I left "his care' and have never regretted it.

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on April 11th, 2017

Dr. Novak came highly recommended by a number of former patients and colleagues. I was not disappointed by his expertise, care, and concern for my well-being. I appreciated his ability to speak to (not at) me about my procedure. The only "negative" I have is that I was less than happy about Dr. Novak's covering physician the weekend after my surgery. I was advised to take advil for my less than one day post-op pain...not acceptable in my opinion.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on March 12th, 2017

The workup preoperatively was thorough with explanation of the procedure and alternatives. Surgery was rapid and uncomplicated. Negative pathology report phoned by the doctor was prompt. My husband, a retired gynecologist, agrees with the 5 stars

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on June 21st, 2016

Excellent respectful doctor. So impressed.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on May 9th, 2016

Saved my life!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on April 14th, 2016

He is a wonderful surgeon, very talented technically and bed side manner. Gives you all the time you need with him and answers all questions.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Three Stars

Posted on November 9th, 2015

I had a surgical removal of external hemorrhoids and a large polyp. Went home and about 5 hours later I was in so much pain. The pain medicine did not help at all. I called and went back in to see what he would do for the pain one week later. He said he wanted to check me, no knowing he was going to stick his finger up the rectum and I yelled out in pain as it was so bad. . He said he didn't realize I had surgery only one week prior. He said what do you want me to do, I stated I need something for the pain. He said what do you want me to give you. I said you are the doctor, he prescribed Dilaudid which did take most of the pain away. It is one surgery I would never have done again. A month of pain was just terrible.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on October 29th, 2015

My experience with Dr. Novak and his staff was excellent. The level of professionalism (and knowledge about my condition) from both Dr. Novak and his nurses made me feel at ease with my decision to use him for my surgery. They made sure I was comfortable and clear on what would transpire during and after surgery. I am healing nicely and would use Dr. Novak in the future if I were in need of a surgeon.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on October 28th, 2015

Dr Novacks nurse Kathy is AWESOME!!!!!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr Novak

Posted on October 23rd, 2015

Dr Novak is professional and on time. He is a great surgeon/doctor.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Three Stars

Posted on March 14th, 2015

dr novak is an excellent and caring surgeon. he gives personal attention and wonderful bedside manner.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Breast Cancer biopsy

Posted on March 3rd, 2014

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Russell Novak is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Sarasota, FL.